cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Hi,

Just switched from BT ADSL to Plusnet fibre (activated today).

 

Download has increased from 10.7M (3.3dB margin) to 16M (6.2dB).  (Line rated at 11.2 max for Clean.)

But upload has dropped from 1.0M (6.3dB) to 0.5M (7.8dB).  (Line rated at rated at 1.2 max for Clean, 0.5 min for impacted.) 

I've of course read the '10 days for a stable line-rate' also seen a few comments that this doesn't really apply for fibre?

The upload SNR obviously has room for more bandwidth, but am I likely to see that improve to the level I got with ADSL?

Full 'hub one' stats below.

Thanks,

Richard

 

1. Product name: Plusnet Hub
2. Serial number: [Removed]
3. Firmware version: Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.217.1.1 Last updated 18/01/17
4. Board version: Plusnet Hub One
5. DSL uptime: 0 days, 02:00:25
6. Data rate: 523 / 15979
7. Maximum data rate: 535 / 16115
8. Noise margin: 7.8 / 6.2
9. Line attenuation: 16.8 / 34.7
10. Signal attenuation: 16.8 / 28.5
11. Data sent/received: 31.0 MB / 518.5 MB
12. Broadband username: [Removed]
13. 2.4 GHz Wireless network/SSID: [Removed]
14. 2.4 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 b/g/n (up to 144 Mb/s))
15. 2.4 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
16. 2.4 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
17. 5 GHz Wireless network/SSID: [Removed]
18. 5 GHz Wireless connections: Enabled (802.11 a/n/ac (up to 1300 Mb/s))
19. 5 GHz Wireless security: WPA2
20. 5 GHz Wireless channel: Automatic (Smart Wireless)
21. Firewall: Default
22. MAC Address: 24:20:c7:53:48:8c
23. Modulation: G.993.2 Annex B
24. Software variant: AA
25. Boot loader: 1.0.0

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Personal information removed from a public forum.

20 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 26,548
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

"G.993.2 Annex B"

That's ADSL2 (not even ADSL2+). You are not on fibre.

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,366
Thanks: 490
Fixes: 45
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

@jelv, I thought that at first, but looking closely it's G993.2 ( which is VDSL ) not G.992.3.

The line speeds do look a bit low for fibre though...

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,548
Thanks: 790
Fixes: 9
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Blasted Google! I looked and thought that's ADSL so highlighted it in his post and did search Google for G.993.2 Annex B. Took the top hit (a Wikipedia page) which took me to the ADSL2 page. I didn't spot Google had swapped digits around!

The maximum data rates reported by the modem are pretty much the same as the current sync so something is well amiss.

 

jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 183
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Have you got one of the newer BT Openreach Master sockets? It would be worth trying from the test socket to rule out any internal wiring issues.

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Hi - thanks for the comments.

It's an Openreach MK3 faceplate.  I'm about 2km from the cabinet, which matches the attenuation seen.  Given that I was getting 1M upload on ADSL2+ I was kind of thinking that VDSL would boost that.

Am I right in thinking that?  I have an old Draytek 2850 (dodgy ethernet ports) and might connect that to see what it gives me.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,258
Thanks: 183
Fixes: 30
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

I would expect your upload speed to be higher with Fibre, what are your estimated speeds on the DSL Checker?

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 18.29.26.png

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

When I was on BT ADSL, I had a 'mod' done to boost the upload from 448k to 864k (something to do with a weird upload cap that's set by default).  Does Fibre have something similar?

The line is definitely clean - otherwise I can't imagine I'd have gotten 10M/1M over ADSL.

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,979
Thanks: 376
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

With those estimates, I'm not really sure why you switched to FTTC.

I suppose that yes, the upload "should" be better, but on such a long line, it's always going to struggle. The upstream in particular does tend to end up that slow on the really long or bad FTTC lines.

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

"I'm not really sure why you switched to FTTC".  Well my ADSL estimate is a bit bizarre (below), but knowing that the fibre bit chops off a fair stretch of the long run, I thought it was worth it.

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 18.43.56.png

Community Veteran
Posts: 4,979
Thanks: 376
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

You said you were already getting 10/1 on ADSL2+, and the top FTTC estimates weren't much more than that. Such low FTTC estimates should have been a big warning that it's not likely to be good.

If your ADSL estimates are way off the actual speed, I suppose it's possible the FTTC estimates are also inaccurate.

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Maybe someone can interpret the below screenshots (from a Draytek 2860n, temporarily plugged in).  I can understand what most of it means, but it's difficult to know what's good and bad without comparing with others.

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-18 at 20.05.01.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-18 at 20.07.17.png

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

For those interested, I think the drop in upload speed has come about because the BT line I came from had ADSL2+ Annex M applied (which offers a more-or-less doubling of tones/bins available for upstream data).

 

The tones/bins available for VDSL2 upstream are in bands, with the lowest band (US0) actually matching normal ADSL2+ and hence the upload speed is lower - since US1 (where more upstream bandwidth is available) appears too high over my line.

However, given that the FTTC has chopped off 1/3 of the distance (from 3km down to 2km) to the "exchange", I'm still surprised by how low the upload speed is.  Will update here if I figure this out.

Also, my downstream has dropped from 16M to 12M now - no idea why.

rpdmallett2
Dabbler
Posts: 13
Registered: 18-01-2017

Re: New fibre Install - but slow upload speed

Forget the above. I wasn't on Annex M after all.

From everything I've read it loooks like I'm suffering from Upstream Power Back Off (UPBO) being activated. This is despite being 2km from the cabinet.

This is the only way of explaining why my other link (ADSL2+) has twice the upload speed despite being 3km from the exchange. Download on both lines is very good.

It's with plusnet support at the moment. Fingers crossed something can be done. I think I'm the first connection to the FTTC electronics so maybe something is awry with it.