cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New connection today

FIXED
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

New connection today

Hi there. My fibre broadband is due to be switched on this morning. Had a txt to say my phone line is connected but what do I do next to connect the router. Also I have 2 connection boxes in the flat (BT and NTL) which one will be active?
13 REPLIES 13
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New connection today

@Alan54 Plug the router into the BT socket - the NTL one is a dead duck.

It may be an idea, though, not to do that until you are advised the Fibre connection is 'live'.

John
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

Thanks for your reply. Will that be a txt message as well?
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New connection today

Should be, yes.

John
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

Ok thanks
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

How long does it take to be connected? Tried plugging in my BT6 router this morning and it shows an orange light which means "your hub is working but there is no internet connection". Thanks for any replies.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New connection today

Have you had confirmation that the service is available?

John
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

No txt message so far was wandering how long it takes. ADSL at my former address was up and running pretty quickly.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New connection today

Two suggestions: What username and password is the router showing? try ringing PN and ask them what the situation is.

John
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

Can't get access to the hub interface and because it's BT it's asking me to contact them. Will call PN and see what happens. Thanks for your help anyway.
jab1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 7,318
Thanks: 2,485
Fixes: 74
Registered: ‎24-02-2012

Re: New connection today

Try reconfiguring the Hub6 - details are on the 'My Router' board.

John
Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

I've reconfigured the hub to plusdsl.net and still not connected so I'll ring now. Thanks for your help.
newagetraveller
Pro
Posts: 580
Thanks: 110
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎03-08-2012

Re: New connection today

Or, if you received a Plusnet Hub One, why not try plugging that in and entering your details? If it does connect, then there's somehing amiss with the BT Hub?

Alan54
Grafter
Posts: 26
Thanks: 2
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2018

Re: New connection today

Fix

Everything sorted now. Connection is up and running. Thanks for all help.