cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

I've recently switched from BT fibre to Plusnet fibre.  Currently I'm getting around 48Mb down and I had 56Mb down with BT.  I believe this could be down to G.INP not becoming active on my line yet.  It's been over a week now since the switch but G.INP isn't active, my H612 stats are given below.
My cabinet is enabled for G.INP and I'm sure I had it when I was with BT.  Does anybody know how long it'll take before it's active?
Thanks

equipcmd swversion display
software version: V100R001C01B030SP08
xdsl firmware version: A2pv6C038m.d24j
cpu version: BCM6368
cfe version: 1.0.37-102.6
display version success

xdslcmd info --vendor
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 16709 Kbps, Downstream rate = 53268 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 16619 Kbps, Downstream rate = 53717 Kbps
ChipSet Vendor Id: BDCM:0xa459
ChipSet VersionNumber: 0xa459
ChipSet SerialNumber:

xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 16709 Kbps, Downstream rate = 53268 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 16619 Kbps, Downstream rate = 53717 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.3 5.8
Attn(dB): 16.7 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 14.2 7.1
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: 17 23
B: 223 237
M: 1 1
T: 64 64
R: 2 16
S: 0.1327 0.4556
L: 13624 4460
D: 1 1
I: 226 127
N: 226 254
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 122337336 1251297
OHFErr: 1155 551
RS: 3534592242 161491
RSCorr: 10242 2271
RSUnCorr: 1108 0
Bearer 0
HEC: 6132 0
OCD: 218 0
LCD: 218 0
Total Cells: 1152609213 0
Data Cells: 145294749 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0
ES: 866 499
SES: 0 0
UAS: 27 27
AS: 260779
Bearer 0
INP: 0.00 0.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 2.13 7.31
OR: 86.31 31.70
AgR: 53803.56 16651.17
Bitswap: 123727/123727 1271/1271
Total time = 1 days 26 min 46 sec
FEC: 10242 2271
CRC: 1155 551
ES: 866 499
SES: 0 0
UAS: 27 27
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 46 sec
FEC: 4 6
CRC: 2 2
ES: 2 2
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
FEC: 2 13
CRC: 1 3
ES: 1 3
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Latest 1 day time = 26 min 46 sec
FEC: 6 19
CRC: 3 5
ES: 3 5
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
FEC: 1474 734
CRC: 231 176
ES: 193 157
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0
Since Link time = 3 days 26 min 19 sec
FEC: 10242 2271
CRC: 1155 551
ES: 866 499
SES: 0 0
UAS: 0 0
LOS: 0 0
LOF: 0 0
LOM: 0 0

14 REPLIES
deathtrap
Grafter
Posts: 1,063
Thanks: 4
Registered: 23-04-2013

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

According to the modem stats you posted your sync rate = 53717 Kbps As to why the sync speed would change  due to migrating  your FTTC service, the only reasons i know of are changing product ie, going from 40/10 to 80/20  ect, or the DLM stability profile used by the isp's  ,  I migrated no loss of sync  only PPPOE but once username /password updated  internet access was restored ,
Of course DLM may of removed G.inp, again unusual , have you tried powering off the modem for 30-45mins since migration to see if it restores things to what they were?
carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

Indeed - I am now syncing much less than I was with BT.  I had 56Mb actual measured throughput with BT, so the sync would have been higher still.
Same products, both are the 80/20 packages.
I'll try turning to modem off for 30 minutes at some point and see if that helps.
carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

No difference after powering the modem off for 30 minutes sadly.  No G.INP and ~53Mb sync.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

Quote from: carvell
Indeed - I am now syncing much less than I was with BT.  I had 56Mb actual measured throughput with BT, so the sync would have been higher still.

Do you not know what the sync speed actually was with BT? Is it the same HG612 being used?
carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

I didn't check the sync speed just before I changed to plusnet and I can't remember what it was when I last did check (over a year ago), but speed tests would download at 56Mb.
Yep - same H612.  Undecided
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

Perhaps tomorrow, one of Plusnet's CRT can post your profile and see whether G.INP is supposedly active.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,533
Thanks: 522
Fixes: 196
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

Your current profile is "0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off" so G.INP isn't on your line.
I believe the transfer order will have reset DLM on your line so it may come back at some point but it isn't something we can guarantee.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

Thanks for looking at this Matthew.
Is there any other explanation as to why my sync speed is lower with plusnet than it was with BT?  Is there anything I can do about it?
I had put it down to G.INP not being applied to the line when I believe it should be and probably was with BT (cabinet is enabled, modem supports it), but I'm open to other ideas as to why my real-world download has gone from 56Mb to around 45-48Mb.
Thanks!
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,028
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

I am puzzled - comes with old age  Embarrassed - but why, since there would be no change at the cab for a move from BT Fibre to Plusnet Fibre and in fact no physical change at the exchange either, would the DLM be reset which I was led to understand could only be done by an engineer at the cab
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

A number of us thought that about resets Jim, but that seems to only have applied in the early days. It's now done remotely.  There may have been some change in Policy at BTw/OR that DLM is now reset on migrations which it wouldn't appear to have been the case before.
I think it'll be a case of wait and see a while Roll eyes    (at a rough guess 10-15 days?).
BrightonRock1
Grafter
Posts: 28
Registered: 29-10-2014

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

This is off-topic but if the DLM can be reset remotely, why are PlusNet unwilling to do so when customers ask for a reset? Their line here seems to have been that they can't do a reset (without an engineer visit, which costs), not that they won't or that it is inappropriate or that it wouldn't help with the problem presented.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,101
Thanks: 443
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

That is NOT the case. It's because BTw and Openreach won't allow it unless there has been a fault that has been attended and fixed. No ISP can do it on Fibre. This is not ADSL.
Highlighted
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,533
Thanks: 522
Fixes: 196
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

BT use a separate network to us so whilst the physical side of things doesn't change there are other aspects which ends up resetting DLM.
It's worth pointing out that any DLM restrictions from a previous provider could still take affect.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
carvell
Dabbler
Posts: 21
Thanks: 4
Registered: 07-12-2015

Re: New connection - slower than BT - G.INP not active

I'll give it 10-15 days then perhaps and see if the sync speed increases up to what it was previously?