cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New connection half the speed

imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-03-2014

New connection half the speed

Just had fibre enabled today signed up for up to 80 meg Unlimited Fibre Extra but only getting 46 ,will it speed up ?

8 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,769
Thanks: 1,396
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: New connection half the speed

PN may not have updated your profile yet , have rebooted your router ?

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Browni
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,950
Thanks: 632
Fixes: 42
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: New connection half the speed


imposter63 wrote:

will it speed up ?


Maybe.

You can see the estimated speed for your line here.

I must have been really bad in a previous life. This is my 3rd ISP in a row that uses lithium.
imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: New connection half the speed

Have re-booted router several times , changed standard router for a different one but still the same

Line is supposed to handle 72.7 to 80

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,336
Thanks: 202
Fixes: 31
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: New connection half the speed

How are you testing via a wired connection or WiFi?

Have you logged into the router to see your sync speeds - posting the details from the Helpdesk tab, making sure you obscure your username and SSID might hel get you soe more detailed help.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: New connection half the speed

Looking at your estimates your line showing be synced between 72.7 and 80Mb/s

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Range(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

WBC FTTC 18x2 Provide Availability

WBC FTTC 18x2 Sim Availability

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 80 72.7 20 20 -- Available -- -- -- --

 

Testing your line is showing it's actually connected at 41.7Mb/s, so something isn't right there.

est Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0001
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found but unable to check for customer equipment connected to modem.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 41.7 Mbps
Upstream Speed 15.5 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 573.1
Upstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed Daily
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From 09:45 to 11:15
Interference Location Customer Premise
Interference Observed In Days 2
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off

 

I'd advise getting this reported to us as a fault at https://faults.plus.net - let us know here when you've done so and we'll get this pushed through.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
imposter63
Newbie
Posts: 8
Registered: 08-03-2014

Re: New connection half the speed

Ok reported this as a fault

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,057
Thanks: 426
Fixes: 16
Registered: 10-06-2010

Re: New connection half the speed

How many telephone sockets do you have?

The "Bridge Tap" the test detected could possibly be due to unfiltered extension sockets (although the test results do also say No for "Home Wiring Problem").

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: New connection half the speed

I've just checked the fault and the next step will be to book an engineer visit, I've updated the fault ticket with this info so if you can reply there with your availability we'll get this progressed and booked.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff