cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

FIXED
MARViN2003
Hooked
Posts: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2016

New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

I have just moved house and ordered Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra.
I was told that the Openreach engineer would come out on the 4th May.
 
I contacted Plusnet straight away and told them that I would not be available that day as we were going out of town for a family funeral.  I was told that the engineer would not need to access our premises.

When we got home yesterday there was a note from the Openreach engineer saying he couldn't get access, and please call to arrange a new visit.

The engineer has confirmed that he carried out the required work to the cabinet.
I have the Hub one , which includes VDSL (Fibre) modem, so Openreach doesn't need to supply one.
The engineer said that the Hub one should just plug in and work.

Unfortunateley, as the BT engineer didn't get to do the home visit, BT won't mark the job as complete, therefore, Plusnet can't activate the service.

I rang up and asked for a new Openreach appointment and the best they can give is 18th May Sad

Is there any way to get the service turned on so I can test if everything will work as the Openreach engineer and the Plusnet help desk advisor have suggested?
4 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

Sorry to hear what's happened.

If you can PM me your username I'll get this looked into to see what we can do.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
MARViN2003
Hooked
Posts: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2016

Re: New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

Fix

Hi Matthew,

 

I got an e-mail today saying that the install was scheduled for 20th.

 

I rang up, was told that it couldn't be expedited as I missed the appointment.  I pointed out that I had informed Plusnet on April 20th that I wasn't going to be there;

After passing onto a manager it has now been expedited and the install should go ahead on Tuesday.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,410
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

Glad to hear we've managed to get things sped up.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
MARViN2003
Hooked
Posts: 6
Fixes: 1
Registered: 05-05-2016

Re: New Fibre - cabinet installed but not switched on

Openreach engineer visited, and tested what he could.

 

Just waiting for Plusnet to activate now...