cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Fibre broadband

Mouldy
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 17-03-2015

New Fibre broadband

I see we have a new exchange box installed and the engineers working on it tell me that we will have fibre available very soon.

Will PLusnet automatically contact me when it is available or do I have to keep asking?

My existing router is "cable ready" so will I be able to use that?

 

7 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,322
Thanks: 223
Fixes: 65
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: New Fibre broadband

Hi there!

 

You'd just need to check here occasionally to see if it's available: http://dslchecker.bt.com/

 

Once it is you can request an upgrade here: https://www.plus.net/upgrade_process.html

 

Re the router it depends on what type of cable service, does the documentation mention anything about FTTC or VDSL at all?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Mouldy
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 17-03-2015

Re: New Fibre broadband

Ok will just keep checking.

Will look into router settings nearer the time. Its a Netgear D6300.

 

Thanks

Cliff

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 7,766
Thanks: 2,287
Fixes: 385
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: New Fibre broadband

No problems Cliff

 

From a quick Google check it looks like it's just ADSL2+ compatible.

We'd send out a compatible fibre router as part of the upgrade.

 

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
bmc
Pro
Posts: 835
Thanks: 166
Fixes: 6
Registered: 28-02-2017

Re: New Fibre broadband

You should be able to tell from the following link what stage your cabinet is at.

https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co.uk/when-can-i-get-fibre.aspx

 

Brian

Mouldy
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 17-03-2015

Re: New Fibre broadband

It went to “taking orders” last weekend so I have requested upgrade along with the plusnet router so fingers crossed Cheesy
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,650
Thanks: 642
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: New Fibre broadband

It's all looking good, I've just popped a note on your account with the order completion date here, you can find that by clicking here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Mouldy
Hooked
Posts: 6
Registered: 17-03-2015

Re: New Fibre broadband

Thanks Chris. I Notice you say it’s ready on 11th. It originally said 9th which is a shame as I am off work on 9th so could have been around to test/play. Oh well ..