cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New Customer- Router just showing orange light

marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

New Customer- Router just showing orange light

I switched to Plusnet and the switch was completed on Tuesday, but my Plusnet router has not connected to the internet. I’ve phoned up and tried manually entering my username and password, tried through the test phone socket, done a factory reset, but all with no joy. The people on the phone were stumped, and are sending out a new router as a last hope, but reading on here when other people have this issue it’s not because of the router. I can’t wait the bank holiday weekend plus another few days before actually getting to the root of the problem, so was wondering if someone here can help?

Cheers, Mark
15 REPLIES
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,560
Thanks: 668
Fixes: 51
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Welcome to the forum.

I don't have a Hub One but I'm assuming that it's got a similar HCI  as my Smarthub 6. If you log into the router on 192.168.1.254 and look at the Status page, does it give an upstream and downstream sync rate?

It is possible for it to be connected to the Fibre Cabinet and is in sync but you get no Internet connection. If there's no sync then it's an infrastructure problem or despite assurances, the work has not been done (yes, this does happen). If it's in sync it's probably either Openreach have not got their settings right or Plusnet haven't activated your account correctly.

Please let us know how you get on.

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,697
Thanks: 1,951
Fixes: 247
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

if there is 'b' showing (glowing orange) on the hub one it's probably in sync.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Thanks, there’s no status page on the router’s screen for speeds etc. The Event log has a lot of ‘CWMP: session closed due to error: Could not resolve host’

Also the b is orange and not flashing.
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

If it's a Hub One you'll find the speeds etc under the Troubleshooting->Helpdesk tab on the router's home page.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Thanks, the data is here. No upload or download, but a data rate of 9995/39993
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

That ties in with what @Baldrick1 & @dvorak have said, you're synching fine to the cabinet but the setup username is preventing access to the internet.
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Thanks, so it’s either Openreach or Plusnet not opening the account correctly. Any ideas where to go from here?
Baldrick1
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,560
Thanks: 668
Fixes: 51
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

You have to go back to Plusnet using either phone or chat and give them this further information.

Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Are you sure you're using the correct username & password?

The username is the one used to login to the member centre appended with @plusdsl.net and the password is the member centre password.

I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy
marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Yes, 100% sure. Also tried it with the original setup format and putting my details in manually
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 8,965
Thanks: 2,817
Fixes: 441
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Hi Mark.

Sorry about the rocky start to your service.

Our tests aren't finding the cause of the problem, so I've contacted our suppliers to check the settings on their side and rebuild your circuit on their systems. This should take 24 hours.

 

If you're still unable to connect, we'd then need to arrange an engineer visit to investigate the Openreach network.

 

Sorry for any inconvenience this causes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Thanks, I was literally just talking to tech support when you’re message popped up! I’ll let you know how it goes.
marksp
Hooked
Posts: 7
Registered: 29-03-2018

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Just a quick update- an engineer came around today and we discovered the fault- the card in the cabinet needed resetting (I think, I may be completely wrong with this, but that's what it sounded like), so it was a fault with the cabinet after all, but it's fixed now. Thanks for everybody's help!
Browni
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,281
Thanks: 775
Fixes: 45
Registered: 02-03-2016

Re: New Customer- Router just showing orange light

Good to hear you're up and running!
I must have been really bad in a previous life as this was my 3rd ISP in a row that used lithium.
Now you're stuck with me because my new ISP doesn't run a forum Cheesy