cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Ping and I

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I


@DS wrote:

@Champnet wrote:

172.16.17.159 is definitely a private LAN which should be used only on the premises before it hits the public (BT) network. Can’t believe it’s a Plusnet issue but you never know....

NetRange: 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255
CIDR: 172.16.0.0/12
NetName: PRIVATE-ADDRESS-BBLK-RFC1918-IANA-RESERVED

Don’t know BTHub config pages, maybe @DS could talk you through checking IP’s, DNS & DHCP settings.

 

 


It is and it isn't - without giving my gateway away, mines currently 172.16.**.**

(the BT/PN routers can have IP's in the 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.253 and 172.16.0.64 to 172.16.255.254 ranges)

So you can have a 172 gateway and a 172 device IP address

 


  1. From https://whatismyipaddress.com/private-ip
  2. Reserved for private networks.

The organizations that distribute IP addresses to the world reserves a range of IP addresses for private networks.

  • 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (65,536 IP addresses)
  • 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (1,048,576 IP addresses)
  • 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (16,777,216 IP addresses

Looks like the BTHub is restricted to certain ranges of addresses. 

Can you try pinging 172.16.17.159 ?

tracert wanders off somewhere then gives up with a “not in route” error.

 

jbligh87
Rising Star
Posts: 166
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: My Ping and I

command prompt:

 

C:\Users\jblig>ping 172.16.17.159

Pinging 172.16.17.159 with 32 bytes of data:
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 172.16.17.159:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I

Router default gateway should be a PlusNet gateway address.

How did you set your’s up, was it automatic ?

in the meantime I’ll have a look around for the setting...

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: My Ping and I


@jbligh87 wrote:

Was that question for Plusnet as honestly I don't have a clue Sad

Neither do I. Anyone from Plusnet care to step in ..... now ..... now ..... now?

Should I delete those screenshots? lol.

I don't know lol. We don't know your IP, that's the main thing

(there's many others whom post the full results of hop 2, so I wouldn't worry)

How easy are gateways to change? 


Erm, pass, next question.

 

 

 

  1. From https://whatismyipaddress.com/private-ip
  2. Reserved for private networks.

The organizations that distribute IP addresses to the world reserves a range of IP addresses for private networks.

  • 192.168.0.0 - 192.168.255.255 (65,536 IP addresses)
  • 172.16.0.0 - 172.31.255.255 (1,048,576 IP addresses)
  • 10.0.0.0 - 10.255.255.255 (16,777,216 IP addresses

Looks like the BTHub is restricted to certain ranges of addresses. 

Can you try pinging 172.16.17.159 ?

tracert wanders off somewhere then gives up with a “not in route” error.

They're device allocated IP's - though the 10. IP range is allocated for future reference for Plusnet or are indeed used by BT for BT-WiFi (aka BT-Fon)

The gateway IP is different.

I tried pinging and got timed out for all 4 attempts

 

Joe might get a result as it's his gateway (though I know these routers don't respond to ICMP)

jbligh87
Rising Star
Posts: 166
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: My Ping and I

To setup up by following a guide which consisted of me turning off 'auto setup' and entering my plusnet username and password in place of a BT username and password

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I

Thanks, still looking.

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: My Ping and I

That's really all you need to do to get a hub 6 working on a plusnet connection Wink

 

(but I'm not having issues with mine and you've tried two devices and you still are)

This must be something at plusnets end, surely?

jbligh87
Rising Star
Posts: 166
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: My Ping and I

@Gandalf Can we get some input on the gateway suggestion please 

jbligh87
Rising Star
Posts: 166
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: My Ping and I

This is the third router I have tried (first non Pluesnet one) lol. Same results on every router and every device tried

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I

@DS @Makes sense, question is are Plusnet using this address for their gateway, or maybe BT are using it as the Router Ex-BT

@DS If you’re not on a fixed IP does your router have a similar default gateway ?

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I

@DS @Thanks, you’re answering my questions before I posted.

so is you default gateway pointed at at 172.17 range.

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: My Ping and I


@jbligh87 wrote:

@Gandalf Can we get some input on the gateway suggestion please 


It looks like he's off the clock now

 

This is the third router I have tried (first non Pluesnet one) lol. Same results on every router and every device tried

I agree, the first 2 routers and we kinda thought it was them, then you got an H6 and this did the same (so the device was still a possible guilty party) but the works laptop seeing the same has swung my opinion now.

(maybe another device should have been tried sooner, but we weren't to know)

 

Makes sense, question is are Plusnet using this address for their gateway, or maybe BT are using it as the Router Ex-BT

If you’re not on a fixed IP does your router have a similar default gateway ?

No, I've had a 172 gateway when I was using any of the plusnet routers, so not BT specific (in the sense of a BT owned router)

Yes, mins starts 172 too

 

 

edit

Thanks, you’re answering my questions before I posted.

so is you default gateway pointed at at 172.17 range.

Yes, sorry, I'm getting in a muddle too Wink - mine is 172.16.xx.xx

Champnet
Pro
Posts: 773
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎25-07-2007

Re: My Ping and I

@DS @Thanks, Looks like BT is using a private network address over a public network, but only for it’s own routers....

Sorry @jbligh87, looks like i’ve had you on a wild goose chase.

It would help, for future reference, if a Plusnet support person could comment.

jbligh87
Rising Star
Posts: 166
Thanks: 25
Registered: ‎07-03-2019

Re: My Ping and I

No worries, I'm just taking all the advice I can get to ensure everything from my side is covered.

I get 10+ responses from DS for every 1 response from Plusnet, they usually just let him trouble shoot for them and jump in occasionally to say they are out of ideas xD

 

Thanks chaps I appreciate your help. We will see what PN recommend from these results.

 

@Gandalf As we said earlier, can the gateway be changed?

 

Joe

Highlighted
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 455
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: My Ping and I

@Champnet no problem Smiley

That's what these forums are for - chucking ideas/suggestions in. Without it (or you) they wouldn't be worth visiting Wink

(plus I'm wrong more than I'm right)

At least all three of us agree, we really could do with plusnet stepping in about now.... (hears a ping)

 

@jbligh87 I'm trying my best, it is a tough one is this.

 

 

edit. Doh, it was a staffer, but elsewhere

<clears ones throat>

@RandallFlagg any thoughts?

(it's gotta be worth a go)