cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Ping and I

jbligh87
Rising Star

Re: My Ping and I

I checked my connection again and... well see attached, 1100ms ping spikes woo!

I don't know anything about routers so i'm not particularly interested in cashing out for one in hopes that it proves the one you provided isn't up to the task. At a quick glance (again I have no knowledge of routers), highly rated ones are from between

£50 and £450+ not something I'm willing to try on a whim.

The only thing that's changed since all of these issues began is that now my internet looses connection randomly (which ironically was the original issue of which the 'fix' caused the ping spikes) so now I have ping spikes and unreliable internet.

What are my options for getting out of this contract? I haven't been getting the premium service I've been paying for, for the last 3 months. If, as you say, we are out of options?

jbligh87
Rising Star

attachment

DS
Seasoned Champion
Fixes: 22

@jbligh87 wrote:

I don't know anything about routers so i'm not particularly interested in cashing out for one in hopes that it proves the one you provided isn't up to the task. At a quick glance (again I have no knowledge of routers), highly rated ones are from between

£50 and £450+ not something I'm willing to try on a whim.

There's no guarantees, but why not go on ebay and pick up a FTTC (not FTTP) BT Hub 6?

You can get one for £20 or under. Thus far, three others (myself included) have seen very good results with this router - my connection could drop out every few days, with some high pings, but since ditching the Plusnet router my pings have dropped by around 8ms (not much, but better) and my connection has been up for over 14 days!!

(it's gotta be worth a gamble imho)

jbligh87
Rising Star