cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

emtunc
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-07-2015

Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

Hello all,
Does anyone know if it is possible for plusnet to assign more than a single IP address to a non-business customer? I have a requirement for 2 addresses but I want to know from you guys if I would have to move to a business package to get > 1 static IP.
My guess is that it should be possible technically but plusnet support systems may not have the function to do this if it's not a business account?
Appreciate your time!
4 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,086
Thanks: 789
Fixes: 171
Registered: 25-03-2015

Re: Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

Hi emtunc, unfortunately we no longer offer IP blocks on residential accounts.
Is it possible to do what you need to do via NAT and port forwarding as opposed to using an IP block?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
emtunc
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: 01-07-2015

Re: Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

Unfortunately not - I need two distinct machines to run web servers (they cannot run on a single machine) on port 80 and 443.
Can I move to a business package without changing what I pay per month? Smiley
kgk86
Grafter
Posts: 35
Registered: 25-06-2013

Re: Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

How about a 3rd machine to act as a proxy\connection broker  Wink
Quite a few guides about on how to do it with Nginx and Apache
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,136
Thanks: 2
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Multiple static IPs for non-business customers?

You can easily front the webservers on the one IP address, if they need to be physically separated then you can do this with Apache / NginX as a reverse proxy easily enough.
The requirement of a different IP address per SSL certificate has long since been extinguished with the introduction of SNI in the TLS protocols now used for https (as long as you don't care about not supporting IE8 and earlier).
F9 member since 4 Sep 1999
F9 ADSL customer since 27 Aug 2004
DLM manages your line the same way DRM manages your rights.
Look at all the pretty graphs! (now with uptime logging!)