cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moving house, but new address not found

DavidP
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Moving house, but new address not found

Hi,

I'm moving house on 16th June (2 weeks today) to a new build.  I rang Plusnet today, but they couldn't proceed as they couldn't find the address.  The person I spoke to (who seemed quite clued-up) said that the system they use uses the same data as the address checker/postcode checker on https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/# so until it shows there, I'll not be able to arrange connection.

The new postcode does not show on https://www.royalmail.com/find-a-postcode either.  It does show on http://www.postoffice.co.uk/postcode-finder

Back in early May, I'd submitted the following on the help link of the royal mail's postcode page (as the postcode not being registered is causing issues arranging other things too!):

I'm searching for a new street - xxxx Drive, yyyy.
If I type 'xxxx' then the auto-complete options include the street I'm looking for, but when I then click this it gives me a message saying there were no results found

and I got the following reply

Hello,

Thank you for your email. 

The following address is reserved on our New Build File:

 <redacted>

Please contact us again when the property is complete and ready to receive a delivery of mail, we will then be able to activate the address onto the main Postcode Address File (PAF).

If you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact us on the number below.

Kind Regards

Which seems to say that they won't add it to the main postcode file (and therefore I won't be able to arrange for phone/broadband connection) until after the builder's fence-line moves beyond my house, so that the postman can get to it.

What should I do here? e.g.

  • Just wait - I'd really rather not, as I'm told it takes 2 weeks to get new connection arranged, so this approach will likely mean moving in with no broadband (or phone, but I'm less bothered about that)
  • reply to the royal mail 's mail above, interpreting "when the property is complete and ready to receive a delivery of mail" in a slightly flexible way
  • is there something the builder should've done after cabling up the house that I should nag them about?
  • is there something plusnet can do to put the order through manually without being able to find the address.

Many thanks,
David

7 REPLIES
bmc
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 932
Thanks: 194
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

See if you can find the URPN for your house. I found mine by doing a address search on the planning page of my local council website.

https://www.btwholesale.com/pages/static/uprn.htm

 

The DSL Checker should work on this number.

 

Brian

DavidP
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

Thanks for that.  No joy on the council's website, but I can ask the builder tomorrow if they can find out the UPRN for me.

 

Thanks again,

 

David

bmc
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 932
Thanks: 194
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎28-02-2017

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

Strange!!!

When I first mentioned UPRN on the Forum it was another member who mentioned I might find mine using the local council website. I duly did find it quite easily (and now regret not taking a screen image of the details).

 

Why - I just spent over an hour trying to find it again and had no luck whatsoever.

 

Brian

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 222
Thanks: 42
Fixes: 13
Registered: ‎23-01-2018

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

Hi David, 

 

We're really sorry that you are having issues getting your address registered. 

 

I have checked again today for your address on the royal mail website and it currently doesn't show.

 

Are you able to confirm if you have tried directly to register this with royal mail as Openreach's database also runs from this? 

 

As long as the address is complete by developers there shouldn't be an issue getting the records updated.

 

We can see you discussed this issue with my colleague here and we advised to get back in touch in a weeks time. When you are able get in contact with royal mail to provide your address details which should set things into motion.

 

Please let us know if we can be of further assistance as we are more than happy to help!

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 OllieC
 Plusnet Help Team
DavidP
Newbie
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

Thanks @OllieC

I replied to Royal Mail on 6th to confirm that the house was now able to receive mail (as the hoarding on the building site had just moved to beyond my house) and they replied on 8th to say it was added - I can now see it on https://www.royalmail.com/business/find-a-postcode

However https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/ still doesn't show it.  What's the typical delay between the royal mail adding it, before it appearing here?  Also is it worth calling Plusnet despite the fact it's not yet on dslchecker?

Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 2,945
Thanks: 647
Fixes: 6
Registered: ‎06-04-2007

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

@bmc, It might have been me who mentioned that.  I found mine whilst looking up the dates for refuge/recycling collection on my bough councils website.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,532
Thanks: 1,036
Fixes: 205
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Moving house, but new address not found

Hi @DavidP,

 

I've responded via the account here: https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=176665912

 

I've checked your new address on Openreach systems and it appears this address may be an FTTP only site.

Having said this, the service is not currently showing available to order.

Moving forward, if the service (WBC FTTP) does become available to order, we may be able to continue providing a fibre service, however if the address is FTTP only as I suspect, we unfortunately would not be able to continue to provide a phone service.

I'd like to raise a pro-forma with our suppliers to query this further and confirm if the site is in fact an FTTP only site, however some of the information required on this form include a contact email address and telephone number for yourself, so before doing so I just want to make sure you'd be happy for me to pass these details on to Openreach and also request if possible that you provide us with a mobile number (Via the ticket on the account, not here on the forums) to add on as the contact number.

I'll be keeping this ticket with myself for now, if you could get back to me at your earliest convenience I'll be happy to pick this up as soon as I can for you.

I hope this helps.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team