Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moved from Sky to Plusnet - same slow speeds at peak time

gordonpa
Hooked

Moved from Sky to Plusnet - same slow speeds at peak time

Hi all,

I've recently moved to Plusnet Fibre from Sky Fibre Max due to serious issues with Sky download speeds at peak times. I was syncing with Sky at around 69 Mbps and was getting around 65 Mbps on speed tests off-peak, but every day around 6pm the download speeds slowly got worse with 4K streaming on Netflix practically impossible. Speedtests were revealing download rates of around 4 Mbps when it was at it's worse. I'm tech savvy as i work in the IT industry, so I have removed all possible variables and been through all the help material. Even with a single wired connection into the router, download speeds did the same thing every night from around 6pm to 11pm - very slow and unusable at times.

Since Sky customer service was terrible, I initially blamed the ISP for their poor service and I switched to Plusnet this week. In short, same problem - sync speeds are lower (52 Mbps) than Sky and off-peak download speed tests are about 50 Mbps which is fine. However, the download speeds have slowly gone down to around 40 Mbps from 6pm and it's now down below 10 Mbps meaning that streaming Netflix 4k is impossible. I have spoken to other residents in my estate who are attached to the same fibre cabinet and are having the same problems with broadband speed between around 6pm and 11:30pm every night. Given that I have had a complete change of ISP and I'm seeing the same issue, this suggests a problem with capacity at the cabinet, the exchange or both.

I do not know how to escalate this, or what needs to happen between Plusnet or Openreach to have this invesitgated. I have attached a BT Wholesale speed test which is better than the mainstream test sites, but still half the speed I was getting earlier in the day. Can you please provide advice or help on how we get this escalated.