cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

So I used to get 40+ mbps on infinity 1 using a hub 5 over wifi and now on fibre extra (faster service) I'm get 20mbps wifi and about 30mbps wired connection.

The only changes are the company and a plusnet hub one which looks very much like the hub 5.

Connected downstream on the router is showing about 48mbps.

Anything that can be done?. I regret leaving BT already :-(
10 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

So you do know you could use your BT Hub 5 ?

The PN Hub 1 is basically the same router, so if you could copy and past the info on the Help Desk tab, you may get some more useful advice - make sure you hide sensitive info such as your username, password and SSID. 

BT and PN use the same infrastructure and connections, so unless there is a fault somewhere you should get the same speeds.

Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Thanks for the info, I'll get some data pasted on here and if that fails I'll try the hh5.
Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

As the downstream speed (48mbps) when logged in the hub is more like fibre than fibre extra, is it possible I've been put on the wrong service?.
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,632
Thanks: 292
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

No, PN,s Fibre service is based on the 40 / 2 service, you are connected higher than those speeds according to your other thread. Infinity 1 is based on a 55 / 10, your upload is higher so must be on an 80 / 20 service.

However what are you expected to get, have a look on here the DSL Checker

 

Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Thanks again for your help.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Post released from Spam Filter.

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,680
Thanks: 665
Fixes: 166
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

WBC FTTC 18x2 Provide Availability

WBC FTTC 18x2 Sim Availability

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 76.9 58.4 20 16.3 51.5 Available -- -- -- --

 

 Judging from the estimates above we would expect your line to be connecting at a higher rate than it is. The line itself looks quite stable:

 
Testing the line is suggesting a potential issue on the voice side of the line:
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 50.5 Mbps
Upstream Speed 14.4 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Voice fault suspected - contact Voice CP to progress copper issue
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 573.1
Upstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-44M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2017-09-06T11:45:00
 
Is there any noise, crackling or hissing on your phone line?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Thanks Chris, I've certainly noticed those issues in the past using the phone. I very rarely use the landline these days but will check what you've suggested to listen for.

Gav
Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

@Chris sorry for the delay just being sourcing a couple of corded telephones to carry out the test.

 

Quiet line test with phone in test socket.

 

 

Geemarc branded corded phone = crackling

Panasonic cordless = faint crackling

BT Decor corded phone = air sort of sound which doesn't change in pitch or volume (maybe normal?), but not a whistling sound or crackling.

 

Regards Gav

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 9,987
Thanks: 3,167
Fixes: 505
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Hi Gav,

 

It's probably worth getting the crackling looked at by an engineer. I have raised a ticket on your account with a couple of things you could try first to resolve the problem. The ticket is: https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=158299552

 

If you'd like an engineer visit to further investigate, just reply to the ticket to let us know.

 

Cheers,

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Gavjbrown
Dabbler
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎07-09-2017

Re: Moved from BT infinity 1 to Plusnet fibre extra - poor speeds

Thanks Anoush, I'll do that.