cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modem not compatible fault.

Pw77
Hooked

Modem not compatible fault.

Hi I’m new to Plusnet broadband, was due to go live yesterday however the router was flashing orange etc and the fault I’m being told is a modem not compatible fault causing it not to sync , the modem is Plusnet hub one and is brand new , engineer visit booked for the Monday morning slot .

However there is a catch ...

This will be roughly the tenth engineer visit in ten months as with my previous isp nowtv I had regular disconnections and the last engineer said there was a sync problem but no line fault and blamed the router , the router was a brand new router and other 3rd party compatible routers also disconnected regularly.

I have a brand new mk 4 master socket with no devices connected other than broadband.

How do I get this issue resolved, each engineer visit is only ever been temporarily fixed , literally the fault resumes the same day the engineer has been ?
Assuming the router or internal wiring is not to blame what would cause a no sync modem incompatible fault ?

Thank you.
6 REPLIES 6
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Fixes: 160

Re: Modem not compatible fault.

Hi, A warm welcome to the forums.

So you’ve had multiple modems and they all fail? Seems much more likely that there’s a not yet found line fault. “Not compatible modem” is a new one from BTOR engineers.

Is the line quiet? Can you hear cracking on the line?

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

Pw77
Hooked

Hi sorry for the confusion, the diagnosis was from the Plusnet technical department having carried out all the necessary checks.

The last engineer visit roughly two weeks ago blamed the now tv router for the sync problems but with me switching to Plusnet soon I decided to wait and see what the new broadband would be like .