cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Master Socket Set up

niccameron6
Dabbler

Master Socket Set up

Hi I'm new to Plusnet, I'm moving from Sky broadband to Plusnet Fibre.  The problem I have is when Open Reach put in my master socket they put it in the attic room that we have converted into a spare bedroom/office.  My TV and Android box is in the lounge on the ground floor.  Will I need to get my Master socket moved down stairs so that the Hub one is nearer to my TV/Android box to get the full benefit of the fibre speed? Also I have an engineer appointment for Monday 3rd May 8am-1pm, does he need into the property?  I would be grateful for any help x

10 REPLIES 10
nadger
Rising Star

Re: Master Socket Set up

Welcome to forums

It should be a self install but it's possible OR engineer will visit if he has any problems - happened to me in January

My Hub One is downstairs but wi-fi connection works well in upstairs bedroom

You can get wi-fi extenders if there's a problem

niccameron6
Dabbler

Thank you Nadger.  I was wondering if I asked the OR engineer if he could move it while he is there, do you think they might?

nadger
Rising Star

No harm in asking if OR engineer does make contact but all you may hear is that you've been transferred.

Have you received and installed Hub One?

niccameron6
Dabbler

Yes I received it yesterday, but it says to wait until the fibre is up and running before installing it, will it be okay to install it before Tuesday?

nadger
Rising Star

As you're currently using Sky adsl it might be best to wait.

I installed mine on receipt but was already on Plusnet adsl so not a problem with username and password - set up was automatic using laptop and ethernet cable

niccameron6
Dabbler

Thank you again, for your help

MattyC
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Fixes: 46