cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Low SNR

DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Low SNR

Hi 

I have a very low SNR of (3,1) Downstream (8.4) Upstream is there anything that can be done to bring it to the recommended levels please 

29 REPLIES 29
Baldrick1
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 8,745
Thanks: 3,973
Fixes: 289
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Low SNR

@DOC1 

 If you have a good line then unless you are very close to the cabinet the DLM will automatically adjust it to 3dB, so this is perfectly normal unless you are getting excessive errors.

Moderator and Customer
If this helped - select the Thumb
If it fixed it,  help others - select 'This Fixed My Problem'

DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Low SNR

Hi thanks for replying

I am very close to the cabinet.  Line Attenuation (dB) 6.8 Upstream & 3.4 Downstream 

adam945
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,319
Fixes: 113
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Low SNR

Hi @DOC1

 

Thanks a lot for reaching out, the SNR margin on your line seems fine given the line length, although on our end, the odd disconnection is apparent, especially last week,  you'll see these on the visual radius which I'll link below. While the speeds on your line appear to be fine as well, line issues have been detected on our RRT.

 

Going forward, if you haven't already, please plug your router directly into the test socket, which lies behind the faceplate of your master socket and see how your connection fairs over the next few days, if your service keeps cutting out, please let us know by heading over to faults.plus.net, and raise this with our Technical Support Team.

 

When testing also, please avoid using any extension cables and sockets.

KBD
GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID  
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 76.5 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 119.4
Upstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed on Week Days
Service Impact Retrains Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From06:45to07:00
Interference Location Unknown
Interference Observed In Days 0
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream traffic detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
DP Type Internal
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2021-06-12T16:45:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 79.9 Mbps 80.0 Mbps 79.9 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 19.9 Mbps 20.0 Mbps 19.9 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 884.8 Sec
Retrains 0.0 5.0 0.0

Capture.PNG
 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds
DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Low SNR

Thanks for your reply 

Ok i will plug it into the test socket now and see how it goes from there.

DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Random Reboot

Hi all

At the moment i am in the test socket as requested due to line issues

I am still having issues but on the 28th at 00:48:57 my router rebooted itself with the following errors as shown in the router log 

 

2021-06-27 23:15:03 [5] DHCPD: Send ACK to 192.168.1.112
2021-06-28 00:48:57 [5] System: DSL Link Down, remote disconnect detected
2021-06-28 00:48:59 [6] PPP: Terminating on signal 15
2021-06-28 00:48:59 [6] PPP: Connect time 3331.4 minutes.
2021-06-28 00:48:59 [6] PPP: Sent 2060665229 bytes, received 3687428777 bytes.
2021-06-28 00:49:00 [6] Httpd: DNS 212.159.6.10 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
2021-06-28 00:49:00 [6] Httpd: DNS 8.8.8.8 resolve timeout for dns.msftncsi.com
2021-06-28 00:49:00 [5] System: DSL Training G.994
2021-06-28 00:49:03 [6] PPP: Terminating on signal 15
2021-06-28 00:49:05 [5] PPP: Connection terminated.
2021-06-28 00:49:05 [5] PPP: Release PPP unit success
2021-06-28 00:49:05 [5] PPP: Modem hangup
2021-06-28 00:49:10 [5] System: DSL Training G.993 Started
2021-06-28 00:49:22 [5] System: DSL Training G.993 Channel Analysis
2021-06-28 00:49:23 [5] System: DSL Link Up us/ds 20000/80000 kbps Type PTM Annex B
2021-06-28 00:49:28 [6] PPP: sent [PADT session is 2993]
2021-06-28 00:49:28 [6] PPP: sent [PADI Host-Uniq(0x00003322)]
2021-06-28 00:49:33 [6] PPP: sent [PADI Host-Uniq(0x00003322)]
2021-06-28 00:49:43 [6] PPP: sent [PADI Host-Uniq(0x00003322)]
2021-06-28 00:50:03 [4] PPP: Timeout waiting for PADO packets
2021-06-28 00:50:03 [3] PPP: Unable to complete PPPoE Discovery
2021-06-28 00:50:03 [4] PPP: Connect script failed
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: sent [PADT session is 2993]
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: sent [PADI Host-Uniq(0x000033f4)]
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: rcvd [PADO PeerMac(f8-13-08-40-f7-4b)]
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: sent [PADR Host-Uniq(0x000033f4)]
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: rcvd [PADS SessionID(0x05f3)]
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [5] PPP: Connected to f8:13:08:40:f7:4b via interface ptm0.101
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [6] PPP: Using interface ppp1
2021-06-28 00:50:22 [5] PPP: Connect: ppp1 <--> ptm0.101
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [6] PPP: CHAP authentication succeeded
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: CHAP authentication succeeded
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: peer from calling number F8:13:08:40:F7:4B authorized
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: local IP address 31.125.23.147
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: remote IP address 195.166.130.249
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: primary DNS address 212.159.6.9
2021-06-28 00:50:23 [5] PPP: secondary DNS address 212.159.6.10

What could have caused this to happen? is it due to the line issues I am having?

 
 
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,308
Thanks: 6,179
Fixes: 1,443
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Random Reboot


Moderators Note


This topic has been released from the Automated Spam Filter

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Random Reboot

Thank You

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 24,597
Thanks: 8,946
Fixes: 1,434
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Random Reboot

I've asked the mods to merge your new topic into your existing one Here.

If you're still getting drops in the test socket, I'd head on back to faults.plus.net to finish raising a fault for further investigation.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Random Reboot

Ok thanks for reply @Gandalf  

I shall do that now .

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 24,597
Thanks: 8,946
Fixes: 1,434
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Random Reboot

No problem @DOC1

If you can post back once you've raised the fault, we'll make sure that's picked up as soon as we can

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 28,308
Thanks: 6,179
Fixes: 1,443
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Low SNR


Moderators Note


Topics on same issue merged.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Random Reboot

Ok @Gandalf 

I have reported the issue now.

DOC1
Grafter
Posts: 31
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎31-07-2018

Re: Random Reboot

Hi @Gandalf 

I have received a text message saying ' To progress my fault an engineer needs to visit and if the fault is with my internal wiring or equipment a £65 charge will be applied ' 

Does this mean that they cannot see any fault at there end? And its possibly at my end ?

Would  I be better off just removing from the test socket and putting everything back to how it was as £65 is a lot of money.

adam945
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 2,319
Fixes: 113
Registered: ‎01-12-2020

Re: Random Reboot

Hi @DOC1 

 

Thanks a lot for your response. The reason I sent out that SMS was because while disconnections are apparent, there are no definitive faults on your line which have been picked up on our tests. We'd therefore ask you to conduct some checks on your side, and if the matter has still not been resolved, we'd then look to arrange an engineer appointment.

 

Saying that, we've noted that you've had your current router for over 2 years, I'd be happy to process a new one to be sent out to you prior to raising this issue with our suppliers? Let me know what you think and I'll get back to you.

 Adam
 Plusnet Help Team - Leeds