cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line running at half speed. Help Please

FIXED
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Line running at half speed. Help Please

This sort of thing is out of my comfort zone but I know enough to know that this isn't right, does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions on this?

My router and modems have been up for 15 days if that helps and these are the sync speeds.

After tweaking the router to I've just done another test on the other line with these results:

Your input is appreciated.

 

12 REPLIES
Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Hello there. Are you running the test wired to a PC or wireless? If it's via Ethernet I'd recommend raising a performance fault at http://faults.plus.net
Hope this helps
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Community Veteran
Posts: 470
Thanks: 34
Fixes: 2
Registered: 26-09-2015

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Anoush, any history of disconnections on his line?  What's his Plusnet profile?

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 2,123
Thanks: 362
Fixes: 115
Registered: 22-08-2015

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Sorry, I'm not in the office this weekend. Sad I was just providing general advice.

[Edit]

@Mook I'm assuming you're on the Unlimited Fibre Extra package? If not then that explains the cap at 38 Mbps.
I've joined the Plusnet Help Team as of May 2017. As such, I have a new forum account. Please direct any queries to @Gandalf. Thanks

 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Support
Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

@Anoush - I'm running Ethernet but I don't think it's a fault, I suspect it due to a CAP on the account both of which should be Unlimited Fibre Extra. It work for now, so I can wait to raise a fault until either another member of staff checks and replies or Monday comes which ever is sooner.

 

@aesmith - Is this something I can tell you?

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,402
Thanks: 996
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

The one piece of information which seems to be missing - I didn't see it - is the Plusnet Current Line Speed https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Apologies for the delay @Oldjim but I didn't realise that you had made a post. I this what you're meaning?

Estimated line speed:80Mb (This may vary between 75.3Mb and 80Mb) - Checked on 2016-04-25 15:04:37

Current line speed:40 Mb

 

Community Veteran
Posts: 38,402
Thanks: 996
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

That is exactly what I meant and this tells me that it is Plusnet slowing it down either because of a glitch or because they have moved you to the 40/20 product

Unless it is picked up here you may be able to sort it via Chat unless it is that you are now on the wrong product and I am not sure Chat can sort that

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Thanks for that @Oldjim, could maybe @adamwalker, or @bobpullen or maybe @Anoush take a look at this for me please as BOTH lines should be on the Unlimited Extra product.

 

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Fix

Looking at this now.

 

Should be sorted, can you try a speedtest?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,402
Thanks: 996
Fixes: 58
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

Note - you may need to do a disconnect/reconnect to activate the new profile

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

It is @Chris, both lines running at ±75Mbps, as always your efforts are appreciated, so thank you for that.

Community Veteran
Posts: 5,063
Thanks: 1,185
Fixes: 30
Registered: 16-10-2014

Re: Line running at half speed. Help Please

@Oldjim - Not in this case, my modem detected the change about 20 mins ago and re-sync'd automagically. Wink