cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

I was told a new router would be sent out and there is currently no sign of it.
When I called up to book the upgrade to fibre you still had my old address showing, even though I followed the steps when moving house with you.
I was assured that the address had been corrected but now I'm thinking otherwise as I would have expected to have received the router by now
16 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,559
Thanks: 1,096
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

If you sign on to the member centre you may well see whether the router has been despatched and you should have received a text message if they have your mobile number.
Will Moderate For Thanks
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

They have my mobile and I have received no text...........so to me it seems like its not been dispatched.
I am also told the engineer will bring an extension cable but not sure I trust that will happen either
AndyT
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 08-08-2014

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

Hi TerryCTR,
I tried to call you this morning to ensure the router was being sent to the correct address, but I was unable to get through.  Could you send me a PM with the best number to call you on and I will get back to you.
Thanks,
Andy
thunderer
Grafter
Posts: 120
Thanks: 4
Registered: 27-01-2012

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

Buy one. Almost anything is better than the one that comes through the post.
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

I already have a decent one but the guy on the phone made out I must use this new one (then again he also made out that he updated my details!)
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17,559
Thanks: 1,096
Fixes: 127
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

you can't use an adsl only router, but if it has a wan port and will support pppoe it should be fine, what router do you have?
Will Moderate For Thanks
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

I know I can select pppoe on the settings, can't comment on the wan port I will need to check when I get home.
I was told the new router will for delivery before 1pm tomorrow so I will use that if need be
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

What a shocking service.
The router didn't turn up and the BT left what I've just now discovered is a modem after waiting 40 minutes for someone to answer the phone - is it really that bad that you are busy that long?
Finally I got a wired connection on my laptop and all I can say is it's horrendous-as slow as a week in the jail.
I'm meant to get 40 meg down and 20 upload so where the hell is it!
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

Your PN profile doesn't change until PN get the confirmation the order is complete. After that, the next time a session connects you should see the "correct" speeds.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

Thanks Phil,
I have had texts and emails from PlusNet saying its complete though and it was running way slower than my adsl connection.
Hopefully it sorts itself out
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,081
Thanks: 45
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

Has your PN profile ("current speed") updated? it is possible it hasn't and needs a nudge.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

I have no idea  - how do I check that?
I will know more tonight as the router arrived today so I can get it set up after work
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,431
Thanks: 1,008
Fixes: 60
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

TerryCTR
Grafter
Posts: 141
Registered: 09-02-2011

Re: Line being upgraded 16.04.15 - where is my router?

thanks jim