cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line Reset

NoTMucH
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Line Reset

Hi

Recently joined plusnet (from virgin media) i'm on the unlimited fibre extra package with phone. I've had my router setup for a week now but my speeds are not what i was expecting currently between 27mb and 32mb. I realise that during the first 10 days the line speeds will vary as it tests the line, but during the first few hours of the router being powered on we suffered power cuts on and off for around an hour or two (not a common occurrence) and I feel this may have had an affect on the setup process of my line. I also had to move the router today to its new location so current uptime has reset to 0 in the attached image.

Please see the below test reports, the connection has been very stable with no drop outs, I am connected to my BT MK2 NT5e Master socket with no extensions, i have zero experience with ASDL/VDSL as I have always been with Virgin (12 years) and only recently decided to leave.bt wholesale checker.pngplusnet bt checker.pngplusnet estimates.pngrouter stats.png

 

 

7 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 1,026
Fixes: 201
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: Line Reset

Welcome to our community forums @NoTMucH, sorry to see your speeds are currently lower than expected.

 

If you haven't already, please could you run through our troubleshooting guide here: https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/connection-troubleshooting/

If you continue to experience the same speed issues after this, please report the issue over at https://faults.plus.net

 

Drop us a message back here once you've done this and we'll be able to get the ticket picked up and raised with our suppliers for you.

 

Thanks.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Help Team
NoTMucH
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: Line Reset

Hi Harry

 

 

Thanks for the response, yes I have been through the steps outlined at https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/connection-troubleshooting/

 

 

On your advice I tried to report the fault at https://faults.plus.net but I am greeted with this message

 

"We're sorry, but you can't use the Broadband Troubleshooter to report a fault on your service. Please contact our Support Team for help."

 

any ideas?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 668
Thanks: 169
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Line Reset

Hi @NoTMucH,

 

Thanks for confirming that you've been through the troubleshooting checks.

 

I'm sorry to hear that the faults.plus.net link isn't working correctly for you. As this is the case, I've tested your line from this side and have opened up a ticket on your account with a copy of the test results and details of the next steps towards resolving this issue. You can view this here: https://www.plus.net/wizard/?p=view_question&id=176000034

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
NoTMucH
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: Line Reset

Hi,

 

I have replied to the support ticket with available dates for engineer visit.

I'm sure my IP profile will need just need a reset at exchange due to the power cuts I experienced, is this something that can be done before an engineer is sent?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 668
Thanks: 169
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Line Reset

Hi @NoTMucH,

 

Thank you for confirming this, I've replied to the ticket here.

 

In terms of the IP profile reset I'm afraid that this isn't something that we can do remotely for fibre broadband connections so this would need to be carried out by the engineer.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
NoTMucH
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-06-2018

Re: Line Reset

I would be grateful if someone could confirm the dates of the engineer visit, the support ticket has been updated with my available dates.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 668
Thanks: 169
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Line Reset

Hi @NoTMucH,

 

Thanks very much for updating the ticket. I've booked the appointment for you now and have updated the ticket and sent a text to confirm the appointment slot. Our faults team will contact you after the appointment to check on the outcome.

 

Please let us know if there's anything that you'd like to discuss in the meantime.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team