cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 395
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Can you test my line please, and can you determine what the maximum speed it will deliver is? In recent weeks I have seen speeds improve in two IP profile "nudges".  Just wondering what's possible, it may well be that what I have is as good as it gets.
13 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

I've attached your stats to this post.
In terms of max speed your estimated range is 35mbps to 49.9mbps.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 395
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Many thanks Matthew.
What would cause High retransmission rates on the down link, but seemingly none on the uplink?
Just curious.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

It could be that your on a ECI cab where retransmission only works on the Downstream.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 395
Thanks: 24
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Is there any way to check the cabinet? I've always thought that it was Huawei. If it is an ECI cabinet, would an ECI modem work better than my current Huawei?
Loath to experiment for fear of upsetting DLM.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,623
Thanks: 533
Fixes: 205
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

If you can get a photo we can advise you better.
Generally speaking the line looks fine and I don't think you'll get much if any more speed.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

If you can find your cabinet, Kitz's excellent website will help you identify the type...
http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/fttc-cabinets.htm
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

I thought G.INP wasn't implemented on ECI cabinets, only on Huawei.
When it was discovered that many users on Huawei cabinets had been issued with ECI modems, that can't handle G.INP at all so the (initial) upstream requirement caused them to lose a lot of sync and become interleaved, the upstream G.INP was disabled by Openreach.
As a result the Huawei cabinets now only have it on downstream. HG612's are happy even if their users are less so, ECI's carry on regardless.
bustermissy1961
Grafter
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Estragon that's what must have happened to me because iam on a Huawei Cabinet and i have the ECI B-FOCuS V-2FUb/r Rev. B VDSL modem and ECI plusnet supplied Router.
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Possibly, but I don't think so I'm afraid. As I said, the upstream G.INP has been disabled at the cabinets and all reports so far from people with suffering ECI modems is that they are back to normal. This removal happened a week or so ago, so it certainly wouldn't have had the duff version applied to your cabinet recently.
bustermissy1961
Grafter
Posts: 204
Thanks: 1
Registered: 04-09-2014

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Well im stumped to as why my speeds have dropped so dramatically without warning.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

Quote from: Estragon
As a result the Huawei cabinets now only have it on downstream. HG612's are happy even if their users are less so, ECI's carry on regardless.

Do you mean Huawei cabinets only have it on downstream if using an ECI modem? I ask because a couple of days ago G.Inp returned to my upstream (was on downstream only). I am on a Huawei cabinet with an HG612 modem.
Estragon
Rising Star
Posts: 811
Thanks: 10
Registered: 07-02-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

I can't argue with that Smiley. But I can say my cabinet hasn't yet been updated yet if they have reinstated it, so others may be in the same state as mine. I shall check mine every day now, just for my own peace of mind, and thanks.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: Line Check Please, What is the Maximum speed it will deliver?

I must admit, it took me by surprise too, but a pleasant surprise none the less Smiley