cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 393
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

Can PlusNet check my line please? it slowed down the night before last and has remained slower this morning, the BTW speedtester suggests that the profile hasn't changed, but the speed has, seemingly.
Every day I find myself checking the speeds up and down, rarely (if ever?) do speeds increase. I feel that I have become obsessed by a falling speed issue, I wish that I wasn't but I feel that I'm being cheated, rightly or wrongly. whatever, I don't think that slowing broadband is acceptable and that this will be a big issue with many more over time.
In today's post, an invite to join BT Infinity and hints of higher speed broadband. I find it hard to laugh about it, I know that I probably should!
Thanks in advance for checking my line, regards, Dan
13 REPLIES
ericgripp
Grafter
Posts: 182
Registered: 26-04-2013

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

What's your current sync speed and can you pull up any stats such as interleaving depth from the modem/router you are using ?
Classic sign is sync of around 69 meg plus interleaving hell of depths at 1000+ (it would appear to be a banded profile that lines default to where G.INP is enabled, but the end user has a modem such as the ECI doorstops, that have incompatible firmware on them)
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 393
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

Thanks Eric. I don't get any stats WRT Interleaving, nor depth. On my Modem Router (Asus AC 68U) I'm showing "Fastpath" for path mode, if I disable G.INP, it shows Interleaving, but nothing more. I suspect that I'm interleaved because Speedtest ping is about 15-20ms although it occasionally drops to 12 ms. With G.INP disabled the Speedtest Ping can be 35ms. G.INP (set at the router) perhaps seems to make the connection appear Fastpath, when it isn't, I'm thinking.
Maximum rate Down is shown as 58328 kbps Until the evening before yesterday it was about 63000 kbps. Current rate Down is logged at 32398 at the router, but Speedtest shows just below 30Mbps. The current speed can drop when the maximum speed varies down, or up, oddly, there doesn't seem to be a correlation.
It seems the we try to wring the maximum speeds from a "suck it and see" system affected by all manner of possibilities. Robust, it isn't.
How can I find my interleaving depth and what does that say about my particular connection? Would it indicate, for instance, old cabling in the road that isn't all it ought to be?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,412
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

You do have G.INP enabled on your line at the moment.
Your profile is "0.128M-35M Downstream, Retransmission High - 0.128M-15M Upstream, Retransmission High"
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
mlmclaren
Grafter
Posts: 855
Registered: 04-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

You can see G.INP now then!
Whats mine look like?
buseng12
Grafter
Posts: 368
Registered: 14-06-2013

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

And mine?
I have a Huawei modem on the way from eBay to replace my ECI one to see if it will solve my sudden speed drop.
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 393
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

Thanks Matthew Wheeler, Is that what retransmission "High" is, G.INP? If not, what is the significance? I take it that G.INP is why my connection has slowed/is slowing further (retransmission of data)?
Will my speed rise to support the extra service again (80/20)? I note that my Maximum rate Up and down has increased and now stands at 60604 DOWN, 18122 UP, A long way below 35Mbps Down, currently connected, and the 11999 kbps UP.
nigel1971
Grafter
Posts: 114
Thanks: 2
Registered: 20-05-2014

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

Can you check if it has been put on my line now please, my ping has dropped from 20ms to 12ms at about 6am this morning. My cab is no.25 near the ribbleton exchange.  Smiley
Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

@ Matthew Wheeler

You confirmed that danludlow has G.INP enabled on his line at the moment.
His profile is "0.128M-35M Downstream, Retransmission High - 0.128M-15M Upstream, Retransmission High"

I am using an unlocked Huawei HG612 modem & I can see from my historical connection stats that I am connected to a Huawei cabinet DSLAM & that G.INP was activated on my connection 23rd March.

I & a number of other users would be interested to know which of the connection stats shown below are used to confirm the High or Low levels of Retransmission for G.INP active connections.


xdslcmd info --stats
xdslcmd: ADSL driver and PHY status
Status: Showtime
Retrain Reason: 0
Last initialization procedure status: 0
Max: Upstream rate = 5067 Kbps, Downstream rate = 22892 Kbps
Bearer: 0, Upstream rate = 4999 Kbps, Downstream rate = 22399 Kbps
Bearer: 1, Upstream rate = 0 Kbps, Downstream rate = 0 Kbps
Link Power State: L0
Mode: VDSL2 Annex B
VDSL2 Profile: Profile 17a
TPS-TC: PTM Mode(0x0)
Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
Line Status: No Defect
Training Status: Showtime
Down Up
SNR (dB): 6.5 5.5
Attn(dB): 24.5 0.0
Pwr(dBm): 12.8 6.6
VDSL2 framing
Bearer 0
MSGc: -6 -6
B: 166 73
M: 1 1
T: 0 0
R: 10 8
S: 0.2370 0.4662
L: 5974 1407
D: 16 8
I: 177 82
N: 177 82
Q: 16 8
V: 5 5
RxQueue: 12 12
TxQueue: 6 6
G.INP Framing: 18 18
G.INP lookback: 6 6
RRC bits: 24 24
Bearer 1
MSGc: 90 58
B: 0 0
M: 2 2
T: 2 2
R: 16 16
S: 10.6667 16.0000
L: 24 16
D: 1 1
I: 32 32
N: 32 32
Q: 0 0
V: 0 0
RxQueue: 0 0
TxQueue: 0 0
G.INP Framing: 0 0
G.INP lookback: 0 0
RRC bits: 0 0
Counters
Bearer 0
OHF: 0 0
OHFErr: 159 0
RS: 516827440 2668758
RSCorr: 1489344 5246
RSUnCorr: 0 0
Bearer 1
OHF: 145073743 938825
OHFErr: 4 3
RS: 870442086 2748670
RSCorr: 3951 239
RSUnCorr: 8 0
Retransmit Counters
rtx_tx: 54964 502
rtx_c: 44064 553
rtx_uc: 749 0
G.INP Counters
LEFTRS: 2307 45
minEFTR: 22405 4997
errFreeBits: 856193634 217541832
Bearer 0
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 1590904926 0
Data Cells: 1850091051 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0
Bearer 1
HEC: 0 0
OCD: 0 0
LCD: 0 0
Total Cells: 0 0
Data Cells: 0 0
Drop Cells: 0
Bit Errors: 0 0
ES: 74 0
SES: 2 0
UAS: 55 55
AS: 2330278
Bearer 0
INP: 41.00 41.00
INPRein: 0.00 0.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 0.00 0.00
OR: 0.01 0.01
AgR: 22458.21 5059.16
Bearer 1
INP: 2.50 4.00
INPRein: 2.50 4.00
delay: 0 0
PER: 16.06 16.06
OR: 47.81 31.87
AgR: 47.81 31.87
Bitswap: 1543160/1543160 2179/2186


If you are unable to confirm which stats are used to determine the Retransmission levels, could you please confirm what is reported at your end for my connection so that we users could compare our stats & maybe determine it for ourselves?

I have provided my PlusNet account username for you by a PM.

Community Veteran
Posts: 6,824
Thanks: 1
Registered: 27-10-2012

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

You'll need to compare people based on their line stats and Plusnet doing the GEA Check.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,412
Thanks: 503
Fixes: 187
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

@Bald_Eagle1
Your profile is set as "0.128M-22.4M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-5M Upstream, Retransmission Low"
I wouldn't be able confirm which shows the difference although personally my guess would be in the "G.INP Framing:" value.
If there's one of our customers who has a unlocked Modem I'm more then happy to run a test to see if we can find out.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Bald_Eagle1
Grafter
Posts: 313
Registered: 24-06-2011

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

Quote from: Matthew
@Bald_Eagle1
Your profile is set as "0.128M-22.4M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-5M Upstream, Retransmission Low"
If there's one of our customers who has a unlocked Modem I'm more then happy to run a test to see if we can find out.


Thanks for that info Matthew.
It does confirm how I 'thought' my connection would be classified.
Would it be too much trouble for you to run & post the results of a GEA test on my connection (if that's the one that includes bridged taps, crosstalk etc. in the list of tested items)?

I am aware that the user I have regular communications with regarding these matters has now been I touch with you.
Would you also be able to conduct a similar test on his connection & either post the (anonymous) results here or in a PM to him?
Both of us would be most happy for you to conduct further tests on our connections or for us to provide any info for you that might be useful for us to glean a better understanding of how G.INP works on our connections, particularly for identifying underlying issues that users can possibly deal with themselves and/or genuine line faults that would require an engineer's intervention.

Community Veteran
Posts: 26,686
Thanks: 910
Fixes: 10
Registered: 10-04-2007

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

If it helps you can look at my line as well (Huawei cabinet, unlocked Huawei modem, g.inp NOT enabled (possibly because line doesn't need it as I'm very close to the cabinet)).
jelv (a.k.a Spoon Whittler)
   Why I have left Plusnet (warning: long post!)   
Broadband: Andrews & Arnold Home::1 (FTTC 80/20)
Line rental: Pulse 8 Home Line Rental (£13/month)
Mobile: iD mobile (£4/month)
danludlow
Rising Star
Posts: 393
Thanks: 23
Fixes: 1
Registered: 03-12-2014

Re: Line Check Please, Is G.INP enabled on my connection?

My IP profile  on the BTW Performance test has been dropped yet again from 32.4 Mbps on the 17th (itself dropped from 35Mbps about a fortnight before) to Yesterday morning's 27.76Mbps Down. Probably DLM, which has a hair trigger downwards seemingly, and needs a tractor to move upwards.
Why isn't DLM more balanced, I can understand damping it in favour of protecting speeds but it seems way off that. It must be deliberately designed that way, perhaps in favour of BTO?