cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

FIXED
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

I agreed to renew my phone and unlimited fibre contract recently, and was assured my package would stay the same.  I would keep my legacy 55/10mb, and was verbally quoted guaranteed minimum speed of 49 mbps.

Unfortunately, it looks like it may be a repeat of what happened in 2016 when my speed was lowered after renewing my contract.

https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Upload-speed-artificially-cut-by-PN/td-p/1370914

My router confirms line speed has dropped to 40/10mb shortly after midnight.  I also received an automated email advising of the broadband product change had been completed (for estimated 38-40 mb service)

 4plusnet5.jpg

I presume there isn't a new policy to phase out the legacy 55/10 product.  Is there something on my account that seems to trigger this issue? 

Can someone take a look at Ticket no. 174977865 ?

Thanks in advance.

 

 

I wonder if this has happened to any other legacy 40/20 product (pre-May 2015) Unlimited Fibre customer lately?

 

 

 

The BT wholesale tester must be broken, as it reports 75 mbps measured speed for my 40mb line....   

 

4plusnet4.jpg

 

 

19 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,060
Thanks: 3,181
Fixes: 506
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

Hi there.

I'm sorry to hear your speeds have slowed.

It looks like the recent re-contracting has reset your speed profile on your account to the current Unlimited Fibre product as well as changed your product to 40/10 on our suppliers systems.

I've placed a modify order to correct the wholesale side which should complete tomorrow. However it's possible that the profile on your account will cap the speeds at 40mbps so I've raised a request with our products team to correct that.

We'll be in touch with an update once we receive a response back.

Apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,002
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

@Gandalf

What are the chances of this happening? The reason I ask is that I am out of contract and my Line Saver is about to end so this would be the time to move on. I am happy to stay with Plusnet and take out a contract (for a consideration!) but I am also very happy with my current 55/10 service and don't want a load of hassle due to a screw up at your end.

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Excess space removed.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,060
Thanks: 3,181
Fixes: 506
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

@Baldrick1

I'm getting clarification from our products team on this one.

Seems to be a bit more complicated than I anticipated earlier.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,002
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

@Gandalf

Thanks, I shall watch with interest.

hooverman
Rising Star
Posts: 61
Thanks: 5
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-12-2012

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

same hear baldrick1 Ive just recontracted my 50/10 legacy product and paid my LRS , but so far my speed is maintaining the 55/10 speeds ,but I will also keep an eye on my speeds ,Im happy with Plusnet yes it does have issues but no more than others in the same price range 

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

@Gandalf Thanks for the update.   I did power cycle my router earlier this morning but it hasn't resulted in any improvement to the line sync. for the moment.  ie. still 40/10mbps.   I will check later today/tomorrow.

@Baldrick1 @hooverman, I contacted a friend who recontracted about a fortnight ago  They haven't witnessed any drop in speed on their legacy 55/10mb service a couple of days ago at the start of their billing cycle.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 10,060
Thanks: 3,181
Fixes: 506
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

No problems. Just a heads up, I've had to cancel the modify order I placed as I'm not confident at this stage that we can get you back onto a 55/10 profile on your account. However, we're exploring other options with our products team.

We'll get back to you shortly.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
jgb
Rising Star
Posts: 91
Thanks: 68
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2007

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

I am watching this thread with interest.

I too am on the legacy 55/10 product. In 2016 when I recontracted at that time my speeds reverted to 40/2 (as it then was) despite assurances and email confirmation when recontracting that I would stay on 55/10. After contacting PN CS things were sorted out and I was put back on to 55/10.

Recently, in response to an email offer from PN, I recontracted again about three weeks ago but have not yet moved on to my new contract which is “pending” according to my Account Summary in the Member Centre and will go live at my next billing date in early June.

Before I recontracted I contacted PN using Chat and did get confirmation that I would remain on 55/10 and that the change would take place on my next billing date. After recontracting, the email I received in confirmation was so confusing (immediate change date; costing included my call plan whereas offer did not; no mention of speeds etc) and lacking in detail that I again contacted PN by phone to check that I was getting what I had agreed to. Again it was confirmed that I would remain on 55/10 and that my implementation date would be my next billing date. I asked that a ticket be put on my account to confirm those facts – which it was (Question 174086546).

I wait to see if PN get it right! Do they need another nudge to ensure they do before things go wrong?!

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

I'm still a bit puzzled as to why I've been unfortunate to be hit twice with an unexpected speed downgrade, when I re-contracted in late 2016, and again last weekend.  But a friend who also has legacy 55/10 re-contracted last year, and again a fortnight ago hasn't suffered - their new billing cycle started a few days ago.  (My new billing started today btw).

The only obvious difference is I do have a 'call plan' and 'Caller Display' in my package, whereas the friend just has line rental (saver).

 

 

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,002
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

It's nothing to do with having a fixed IP address is ir?

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

No, we both don't have a fixed IP address.

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,002
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

If one was into conspiracies they would wonder whether this is connected.  https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Why-has-my-speed-dropped/m-p/1541452

bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 901
Thanks: 132
Fixes: 24
Registered: ‎18-10-2008

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

hi @Gandalf, I read the internal notes you kindly attached to the ticket last Friday, and I've added a reply.

The key question at end of the day, is whether or not it is possible to be returned to 55/10 profile ?

 

Baldrick1
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,002
Thanks: 848
Fixes: 67
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Legacy 55/10 to 40/10 - product change mistake?

I have bitten the bullet and talked to the customer options team. I came to the conclusion that it was easier and would cause all parties least hassle to move from 55/10 onto the 80/20 service. As I am syncing at 76/20 I can use the extra speed. This move also gives the necessary data required to ask Plusnet to match other 80/20 deals that are currently available.

After a bit of negotiation I am very happy with the outcome.