cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Leaving because of poor performance

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Leaving because of poor performance

I'm leaving within the coming weeks. The highest rated fibre is poor, laggy for gaming and I've had enough. I would have changed a long time a go, had my contract been longer based, however even if I'm only home every 2/3rd week I'm still leaving.

 

Moderator's note by Adie (Dvorak) changed topic title.

58 REPLIES 58
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

To add. BT is probably the best option available for anyone else looking to leave.
Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 2,373
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

So what evidence have you that you will get better performance from BT?

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: Why I have left Plusnet


@royleestoves wrote:
I'm leaving within the coming weeks. The highest rated fibre is poor, laggy for gaming and I've had enough. I would have changed a long time a go, had my contract been longer based, however even if I'm only home every 2/3rd week I'm still leaving.

Different experiences for different people.

I have no lag and decent pings when gaming, it's been pretty stable for the most part over the last few years. Some issues might be local to you or environmental which won't change with a new provider. Good luck. :3

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

I would say for ADSL type definetly, owning most if not all of the infrastructure in my area and I believe also most areas(don't quote me on that).

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

I've had various different issue from DNS, to lagg and bandwidth capping.

I've always went against BT for their pricing, but definetly biting the bullet in the coming weeks. PN have got so bad.

Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 2,373
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Why I have left Plusnet


@royleestoves wrote:

I would say for ADSL type definetly, owning most if not all of the infrastructure in my area and I believe also most areas(don't quote me on that).


The infrastructure is owned by BT plc presumably within its operating companies (BT Wholesale would be my guess) other BT operating companies include  Openreach, BT Retail and Plusnet. So where is the evidence that you will get a better connection by switching from Plusnet to BT Retail?

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

Would you class lagg, latency, dns replace issues as connection issues? I'd personally class it as poor delivery of service. Who do you think manages the infrastructure if BT owns it?
Highlighted
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 5,373
Thanks: 2,373
Fixes: 159
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: Why I have left Plusnet


@royleestoves wrote:
. Who do you think manages the infrastructure if BT owns it?

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think that most of it is managed by Openreach and BT Wholesale, the same as for BT Retail. I accept that it's terminated at Plusnet servers but whether that's the reason for your problems is a moot point.

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 12,497
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

You can choose different DNS, how do you measure lag(g)? & latency?

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

So who manages the QOS and levels of bandwidth for other ISP's running through BT's infrastructure.. I'll bet that is also BT.. and you don't think they'd priorities their own customers, on their on infrastructure..

Anyways, BT it is.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 66
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

I did, however the problem came from nowhere. On fibre to cab, and copper to home I get an average of 34ms for gaming.. the problem has developed over time..

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 12,497
Thanks: 600
Fixes: 19
Registered: ‎01-09-2007

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

You must have a very long line...

PING 1.1.1.1 (1.1.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=57 time=5.94 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=57 time=6.06 ms
64 bytes from 1.1.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=6.33 ms
^C
--- 1.1.1.1 ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 5.940/6.115/6.339/0.166 ms

BTW 1.1.1.1 is an alternative DNS that you could use.

"In The Beginning Was The Word, And The Word Was Aardvark."

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: Why I have left Plusnet

Damn your pings are good Sad

Pinging 1.1.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 1.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=10ms TTL=58
Reply from 1.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=58
Reply from 1.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=58
Reply from 1.1.1.1: bytes=32 time=11ms TTL=58

Ping statistics for 1.1.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss)
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 10ms, Maximum = 11ms, Average = 10ms

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 123
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎06-01-2015

Re: Why I have left Plusnet


@royleestoves wrote:

I did, however the problem came from nowhere. On fibre to cab, and copper to home I get an average of 34ms for gaming.. the problem has developed over time..


Hows about run some pings to various sites like www.bbc.co.uk or www.google.co.uk or 1.1.1.1 etc