cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Latency

Mickzyy
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-04-2016

Latency

I have a latency of around 21 ms but it staggers from 21 to around 60. Is there any chance I can get set to annex a to have lower latency maintaining the same download speed and upload speed that I am currently on. Many thanks
11 REPLIES
Mickzyy
Newbie
Posts: 2
Registered: 12-04-2016

Re: Latency

If lowering the mtu from 1480 to around 1370 is possible could u also do that please as im under the impression it lowers latency thanks
etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: Latency

Plusnet have no control over fibre, unlike ADSL. They can not remove interleaving remotely, it requires a BT engineer to reset DLM and that will only happen if you have a fault on your line
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

Aparently PN new network gives you a lower latency Thumbs Up hopefully we will be switched over soon

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: Latency

It may give you lower latency but if DLM has set interleaving on you are unlikely to get pings of 7ms.
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up
NorthEasterner
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,867
Thanks: 54
Fixes: 3
Registered: 25-09-2012

Re: Latency

I got a ping of 64ms yesterday and I just disconnected and reconnected the PPP session and that sorted it. :-/

NE
Ex Plusnet Fibre customer. BT Infinity Customer using a BT Smart Hub. If you wish to say thanks, please click the thumbs up Thumbs Up
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

Must admit , a gateway hop normally gets a less occipied connection for a few days , games get lower pings then

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: Latency

I've never seen pings about 10ms since swapping to fibre. I get an average of 8ms

I'm not sure if I'm on new network, I couldn't tell you (using a static IP)
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Latency

I've been on fibre for more than 3 years and never had a ping of less than 20ms!Sad

My speeds are 73ish down and 18ish up on fibre 80/20.

Geoff,
York.
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,973
Thanks: 1,531
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Latency

Ned , i am always below 20 ,, average is 12 - 15

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5250118563

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 3
Registered: 20-10-2012

Re: Latency

I just tested on the Bristol link which is the one I use all the time and :-

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5250138539

But, on Maidenhead I get :-

http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5250135369

 

Perhaps I should use Maidenhead more? Thumbs Up

Geoff,
York.
etdsaunders
Pro
Posts: 235
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 7
Registered: 21-02-2016

Re: Latency

I get same ping on Maidenhead and Maidstone(local)
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/a/1871275884
Raspberry Pi enthusiast!
If you Like it, give it a Thumbs Up