cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Laggy fibre

Esoames

Laggy fibre

I've been in talks with faults for months now funnily enough since August 2016....

Anywho our fibre is laggy, it's perfectly fine streaming in most cases it's just websites and more annoyingly videos on websites such as Facebook and YouTube. It's driving us mad! Stupidly tied in until June because we got a router from them last year to try and solve some issues but it just doesn't seem to get any better.

I'm an ex faults agent from plusnet so I can tell it's not quite right. I'm fairly sure that there are dodgy gateways but I can't get anyone at plusnet to agree with me.

Been asked to do wireshark and I've got to be honest it's an awful program! I can't seem to get it to do what I want. Any suggestions before I end up getting divorced because a website doesn't load properly?

Cheers for reading
5 REPLIES 5
Esoames

Re: Laggy fibre

88 views and nothing from anyone? I'll be raising another fault over the weekend YouTube and Facebook videos are unwatchable on our wifi we have to resort to using 4G. Thanks for reading...
ejs
Aspiring Hero
Fixes: 25

As an "ex faults agent", shouldn't you be much more able to investigate and solve your own problems yourself than most people on the forums?

You haven't given us any details of the VDSL2 connection stats, or your estimated speeds, so there's nothing there for us to look at. Now you've mentioned wifi, but presumably you would have already checked with a wired Ethernet connection to determine if it's a problem with the wifi or something else.

You could try doing some ping tests to check for packet loss, I'd do some pings with larger packets, because the default ping packet size being much smaller than data carrying packets can make the results unrepresentative of a problem affecting data transfer.