cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just wondering how

ayrshire2001
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 10-12-2015

Just wondering how

So I upgraded last year to the up to 76 Mbps service and have been getting around 60 Mbps.  I spoke to PN a few times as I thought I should be faster than this as I can see the exchange from my house (I was Exchange Only till just before I upgraded).  I was told that the 60 Mbps was about what I could expect.  However within the last month or so my speed has went up to around 75-76 Mbps.  Now I am certainly not complaining about this but just curious to understand whats happened.

One thing I have also had an ongoing issue with is the router disconnecting from the internet quite a lot.  I have spoken to PN who tell me they can't see anything but I have lost count of the number of times the web page has appeared telling me my router has lost connection and the router light is flashing.

Any ideas?

 

Thanks for your advice

23 REPLIES
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 1,702
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Just wondering how

It looks like you're on the 3db trial...

Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream 3dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Retransmission Low

 

...which has boosted your router sync speed up to the maximum.

Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 79.9 Mbps
Upstream Speed 20.0 Mbps

 

Grin

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
ayrshire2001
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 10-12-2015

Re: Just wondering how

Oh I see so the lower DB makes the speed faster?  Could this be why the router trips so often?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,268
Thanks: 1,702
Fixes: 323
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: Just wondering how


Could this be why the router trips so often?

Yep

 


Could this be why the router trips so often?

It's possible. I'm not entirely sure how we'd get you off the 3db trial - @bobpullen might be able to help on that.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Terranova667
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,242
Thanks: 56
Fixes: 2
Registered: 19-02-2014

Re: Just wondering how

 If there was a line stability issue DLM would adjust the 3db profile back up a little usually to 4 or 5db then if things are still unstable it would go back to to the standard 6db.

seeing as it's still on 3db and full sync it doesn't appear to be a line stability issue, it could be the Session with the router is dropping but I wouldn't have thought the Profile would have any influence on that but i could be wrong.

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just wondering how

What router are you using?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ayrshire2001
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 10-12-2015

Re: Just wondering how

Just the standard Hub One

bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 884
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Just wondering how

so what is this 3db trial that is spoken of?

RichardB
Pro
Posts: 333
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 4
Registered: 19-11-2008

Re: Just wondering how

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just wondering how


ayrshire2001 wrote:

Just the standard Hub One



Hmm, thanks. Assuming I'm looking at the correct account, we've not seen your Hub online for over a year. Did you replace it at some point? Whilst I'll admit, it doesn't look like it from our connection logs, the occasional drops you see may be due to a bug in the firmware you're running (it tells you the current version in the footer of the router configuration pages).

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

ayrshire2001
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 10-12-2015

Re: Just wondering how

Hi

 

Nope haven't changed it.  My username is ayrshire2001.  The current firmware is showing as Software version 4.7.5.1.83.8.237.2.2 Last updated 15/08/17

bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 884
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Just wondering how

one thing i saw on the bt forums is to do a full reset on the router

 

there does seem to be number of people who have had disconnect issues after that firmware update

 

including me, incidentally i'm also on 3db, so maybe that's the common factor

 

could of course just be a coincidence, but might be worth a try

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,098
Thanks: 895
Fixes: 74
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: Just wondering how

@ayrshire2001, that's the latest firmware so you won't be susceptible to the upload bug.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Products Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

bluewhale
Rising Star
Posts: 884
Thanks: 15
Registered: 30-07-2007

Re: Just wondering how

did this get resolved?

 

i'm stuck with daily disconnects and stuck on 3db too

 

don;t want to risk and engineer call out as can't afford to take a £65 risk

 

i'm wondering how good the DLM software is

ayrshire2001
Grafter
Posts: 38
Registered: 10-12-2015

Re: Just wondering how

I've done as suggested, did a factory reset on the router and, so far it seems to not have disconnected.  Heres hoping it will remain like this.

Thanks for all the help and advice guys, appreciate it.

Out of interest the router reports the noise margin as being 6.5/6.3 should this not be around 3 if the S/N ratio is 3 or is this something different?  Still getting speed tests of betweem 74.5 and 75.5.