cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

FurstyFerret
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 22-01-2016

Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Moved to PlusNet from Sky a few days ago but the sync speed has dropped from 72mbps to 60.  Surprised to see such a change when all fibre stuff handled by Openreach.  The modem is an Openreach one I've been using for years.
Thanks,
Dave.
13 REPLIES
blundey
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-01-2016

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

I wonder if there is more underhand tactics going on here, as you should be seeing the same speeds regrdless of provider. They set the speeds on your user profile for your account. Have a word and let us know how you get on.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

underhand tactics in what way?
blundey
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 21-01-2016

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

I have personally witnessed and seen others on this board pay for and buy the top package fibre extra, and be put on the package below thus limiting speeds. Its not rocket science to order a package and provide it to a customer. The question is how many customers have they done this to that have not noticed? Think of the money and capacity PN will save by not providing the faster service. The wording of UPTO gives PN plenty of leeway in contending speed problems.
That said, with this particular issue stated above. He is able to get 76mbps to his modem. He is only getting 60mb. I too am capable of getting more than 60mbps, however I took am limited to that figure. Strangley my next door neighbour gets the full 80 as advertised from a different provider.
This is why i believe there are som underhand tactics going on.
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,027
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

If you can post the sync speed you must have an unlocked modem - can you post the noise margin
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 505
Fixes: 190
Registered: 01-01-2012

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Our tests show you're syncing at 60.3 mbps and your profile is '0.128M-74M Downstream, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off'.
Is your Openreach modem a ECI or Huawei one?
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
FurstyFerret
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 22-01-2016

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Hi Matthew.
It's a Huawei modem connected directly to the master socket - there's no extension wiring in this house being a new build.
Noise margin is 6.2dB.  Can't tell you what it was with Sky as the modem doesn't report it when g.inp is on.
I was a bit surprised because I didn't expect the speed to change at all, unless with Sky the modem was holding a higher speed with more errors until the resysnc which took it to where it should be.
Thanks,
Dave.
Talamat
Grafter
Posts: 25
Registered: 13-01-2016

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

I'm getting the same impression (switched from Sky to Plusnet).  If there were any errors on the line the Sky didn't seem to react to them as harshly as Plusnet's network does.
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: 27-02-2014

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Why did the OP move from Sky? I'm in two minds to either move to Sky or TalkTalk, as they're LLU, they have their own equipment, hence better....
BTW, I'm still on DSL, not trolling, but just interested to hear why they moved.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Quote from: XenoGuy
as they're LLU, they have their own equipment, hence better....

that's quite a leap to make!
XenoGuy
Grafter
Posts: 77
Registered: 27-02-2014

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Quote from: chenks76
that's quite a leap to make!

Isn't that what LLU is? Different (DSL/VDSL) equipment than BT? Ofc, not necessarily better than BT's but.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

it was the "hence better" that i was suggesting was the leap.
you still use the same openreach network from the exchange to your house regardless if it's LLU or not.
FurstyFerret
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 22-01-2016

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

Quote
Why did the OP move from Sky

Bill rocketed to over £50/month.  They offered to reduce it but in the long run the 18 month contract with PlusNet worked out cheaper. And the internet is freshly piped from Yorkshire.
Community Veteran
Posts: 3,274
Thanks: 339
Fixes: 12
Registered: 24-10-2013

Re: Just moved from Sky - sync speed dropped

£50pm wasn't just for telephone/internet though...