cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this it?

brarav
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-07-2017

Is this it?

 

On 24th July 2017 our service was transferred over to Fibre Extra. I did receive an email mentioning that it can take up to 10 days for speeds to stabilise etc,etc and in this regard this post maybe some what premature. Apologies in advance if this proves to be the case. However I have to say that my early impressions are that the performance is no different to the standard broadband I had with PlusNet and I'm not entirely sure how much better it can get. 

For a few days afterwards we were receiving speeds of around 30-45mbps and upload speeds of around 10mpbs and the performance was still not noticeably different than before; these have dropped to 10mbps for download and 6mpbs for uploads and ping latency of 550 ms as of today.

My other half has a fixed connection to the router and she has not noticed any speed increase and neither has anyone else on a wireless connection since the upgrade. Can anyone else help because I'm beginning to think that upgrading was pointless.

 

 

6 REPLIES
rongtw
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,946
Thanks: 1,513
Fixes: 12
Registered: 01-12-2010

Re: Is this it?

Hi , firstly FTTC should find its best within the first 48 hours Via the DLM ,,,  so the 10 days is a bit wrong Sad again

Your WiFi tests can always show odd variable  results and it best to test speeds wired .

what does it say here when you put your phone in number  https://www.dslchecker.bt.com/

Asus ROG Hero Vii Z97 , Intel i5 4690k ,ROG Asus Strix 1070,
samsung 850evo 250gig , WD black 2 TB . Asus Phoebus sound ,
16 gig Avexir ram 2400 , water cooling Corsair H100i gtx ,
Corsair 750HXI Psu , Phanteks Enthoo pro case .
brarav
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-07-2017

Re: Is this it?

Thanks for your reply. The link shows the below

 

VDSL Range A (Clean) Downstream High 80mbps Low 62.5 and Upstream High 20 Low 20

 

VDSL Range B (Impacted) Downstream High 70.6mbps Low 39.8 and Upstream High 20 Low 11.5

It mentions that the line is on a Market B Exchange.

Any response will be greatly appreciated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is this it?

How are you testing the speeds? Is it over a wired or wireless connection?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
brarav
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-07-2017

Re: Is this it?

Both ways and it is pretty much identical.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,644
Thanks: 636
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: Is this it?

Hi there,

 

Checking your estimates you should be connecting between 62.5Mb/s and 80Mb/s

Featured Products

Downstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Upstream Line Rate(Mbps)

Downstream Handback Threshold(Mbps)

WBC FTTC Availability Date

WBC SOGEA Availability Date

WBC FTTC 18x2 Provide Availability

WBC FTTC 18x2 Sim Availability

Left in Jumper

  High Low High Low        
VDSL Range A (Clean) 80 62.5 20 20 55 Available -- -- Yes --

 

However running a line test is showing your line connected through at 45.1Mb/s

 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0003
Description No problem found, OAM test is not currently supported on this line.
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 45.1 Mbps
Upstream Speed 10.0 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 629.3
Upstream Rate Assessment Low
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Current 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Last 15Min Bin Retrains 0
Profile Name 0.128M-80M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2017-07-24T08:15:00

 

I'd advise getting this reported to us as a fault at https://faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
brarav
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-07-2017

Re: Is this it?

Thanks Chris. I'll do that.