cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this a mistake?

BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Re: 40/20 to 55/10

Well that's a bummer, at least I shouldn't lose anything either (currently only get 32-37 down and 6up), just the fact that line rental prices have gone up along with this fabled increase in speed and it'd have been nice if we got something back!
Mayfly
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,064
Thanks: 58
Fixes: 1
Registered: 04-06-2009

Re: 40/20 to 55/10

My upload has increased from 21Mbps to 31Mbps WIFI which I use because of where the router is sited,  wired it's gone from 26Mbps to 40Mbps download 10Mbps.

 

Speed in the members centre still reads max download as 40 Mbps.

BL-TZ
Dabbler
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Registered: 01-08-2016

Re: 40/20 to 55/10

My members centre speed only shows 38 still. As this is linked to speed profile I'd have expected it to be 55 so maybe they haven't changed them all yet?!
andytay
Grafter
Posts: 51
Thanks: 7
Registered: 17-05-2016

Re: 40/20 to 55/10

Mine is still the same cant wait for the excuses to start " Oh your line speed wont change" even though i was told it would!

ratsea
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 04-11-2015

Re: Is this a mistake?

I also got a general email about the new 55/10 service from 1st Aug, and I am on a 40/2 contract.  I was curious so contacted Chat on the help desk. I was told that I would also get this new service, which pleased me no end. However as of 8:50 today - no change (router rebooted several times). Was I misled and the 40/2 customers will be left as 3rd class users?

 

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Is this a mistake?

@ratsea

Yes you were misled, this is only for those who were on the 40/20 legacy product.

RJM
Rising Star
Posts: 158
Thanks: 14
Registered: 28-01-2013

Re: Is this a mistake?

My download speed is exactly the same as well.

 

Upload has been dropped to 10.

 

My actual figures are as follows:

37.92 

9.72

SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Is this a mistake?

Highlighted
DTEG
Rising Star
Posts: 84
Thanks: 10
Registered: 08-06-2007

Re: Is this a mistake?


Yes you were misled, this is only for those who were on the 40/20 legacy product.


Yup, unfortunately the customer service reps were probably even more in the dark over this than the customers, and we were appallingly enough advised about this in the first place. Loads of dud information being given out on the day, and not a word of clarification or apology after the event.

RJM
Rising Star
Posts: 158
Thanks: 14
Registered: 28-01-2013

Re: Is this a mistake?

@SpendLessTime

1) The line speed is set to: 40.

2) Estimated line speed from BT checker is:  80/20

3) From router:

Uptime: 13 days, 8:51:23
Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 19.999 / 79.999
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,375
Thanks: 584
Fixes: 53
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Is this a mistake?

@RJM

Get onto Chat or the phone and have the Plusnet line speed set correctly as they haven't changed it to match the new 55/10 product you've been switched to.

RJM
Rising Star
Posts: 158
Thanks: 14
Registered: 28-01-2013

Re: Is this a mistake?

@SpendLessTime

 

Will do - thanks for your help.

Baldrick1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 171
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 4
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Is this a mistake?

I am in the same boat. My upload speed has been halved but my download profile is still on 40Mbps (Dslstats reports Downstream rate of 76584Kbps). So is this the latest Plusnet plan, that is, to hope people don't notice that they haven't 'got round' to upping the download cap on their system, or am I just a cynical old s*d?

InterZoom
Rising Star
Posts: 184
Thanks: 18
Registered: 15-08-2014

Re: Is this a mistake?

My line is still sync'd at 80/20.

I still have a 40Mbps download cap.

A new 10Mbps upload cap profile has been applied, however.

 

After following the complaints process, PlusNet have stated to me that they are relying on Clause 18.1.3 of their Standard Terms (a change in their costs) to make the detrimental service change.

I think I'm right in saying that it would not have been legal for Openreach to have done a discount deal on all those 80/20 connections, and also that the current price of that product hasn't changed. So perhaps PlusNet either know of a coming Openreach price increase, or the wholesale cost of their upload bandwidth has increased (perhaps with the switch to the new network).

 

 

Looks like I'm now going to have to re-grade to Unlimited Fibre Extra to regain my 20Mbps upstream bandwidth.

 

PlusNet are happy to price match that with my existing 40/20 connection, they say, but only if I am happy to agree to a new 24 month lock in: which I am not. It could be an interesting factor in a small claims court claim, but I'll go with ISPA & ADR initially. Purely as a matter of basic decency, the whole thing is a simple abuse of market power to force a desired outcome. Nice behaviour.

 

Anyway, @HarryB would you be good enough to ensure that no new minimum term is added to my account? Thank you.

Baldrick1
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 171
Thanks: 55
Fixes: 4
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: Is this a mistake?

And guess what? 'Chat is currently unavailable'!!!!