cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

butako
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2020

Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

I've been struggling with plus.net support team to resolve a speed problem on my line. My modem reports the line connection speed as >50mbps, however all speed tests are consistently reporting max speed of 38mbps. 

I've had the BT Engineer visit and he's replaced the wall socket; and Plus.net have sent me a new Home Hub router too. All have made no difference whatsever. For the record the BT Engineer tested with his own laptop connected directly to the router ethernet and was also only getting ~38mbps too. 

This all suggests to me that there is some kind of speed cap going on the network upstream. I am on Fibre Extra so shouldn't have any cap! Plus.net's support team haven't solved it for weeks now.

 

Anyone got any clues please?

Modem Draytek Vigor 130 vdsl status

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME
   DS Actual Rate          : 57578000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 20000000 bps
   DS Attainable Rate      : 65828296 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 22704278 bps
   DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :        Fast 
   DS Interleave Depth     :      839       US Interleave Depth  :        1 
   NE Current Attenuation  :       16 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        5  dB
   DS actual PSD           :     5. 8 dB    US actual PSD        :     6. 0  dB
   NE CRC Count            :        0       FE CRC Count         :      209
   NE ES Count             :        0       FE  ES Count         :      202
   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1
   ITU Version[0]          : fe004452       ITU Version[1]       : 41590000
   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-06-0D-01-07   [with Vectoring support] 
   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0 
   Test Mode               : DISABLE 
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
   Far Current Attenuation :       18 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        6  dB
   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544eb206
   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >
 
 
The plusnet customer page:
Your broadband service
  • Product: Unlimited Fibre Extra
  • Estimated Download Range: 50 - 70Mbps
  • Estimated Upload Range: 16 - 18Mbps
  • Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 44.5Mbps
  • Current Line Speed (Download): 40.4Mbps
 
 
And, results from speedtest.btwholesale from a hard wired ethernet connected to the home hub:
Timestamp Thursday 6 August 2020 | 20:13:3
Ping 21 Ms
Download 37.92 Mbps
Upload 18.74 Mbps
 
Very fishy!!!
11 REPLIES 11
butako
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2020

My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

 

I've been struggling with plus.net support team to resolve a speed problem on my line. My modem reports the line connection speed as >50mbps, however all speed tests are consistently reporting max speed of 38mbps. 

I've had the BT Engineer visit and he's replaced the wall socket; and Plus.net have sent me a new Home Hub router too. All have made no difference whatsever. For the record the BT Engineer tested with his own laptop connected directly to the router ethernet and was also only getting ~38mbps too. 

This all suggests to me that there is some kind of speed cap going on the network upstream. I am on Fibre Extra so shouldn't have any cap! Plus.net's support team haven't solved it for weeks now.

 

Anyone got any clues please?

 

Modem Draytek Vigor 130 vdsl status

  ---------------------- ATU-R Info (hw: annex A, f/w: annex A/B/C) -----------
   Running Mode            :      17A       State                : SHOWTIME
   DS Actual Rate          : 57578000 bps   US Actual Rate       : 20000000 bps
   DS Attainable Rate      : 65828296 bps   US Attainable Rate   : 22704278 bps
   DS Path Mode            :  Interleave    US Path Mode         :        Fast 
   DS Interleave Depth     :      839       US Interleave Depth  :        1 
   NE Current Attenuation  :       16 dB    Cur SNR Margin       :        5  dB
   DS actual PSD           :     5. 8 dB    US actual PSD        :     6. 0  dB
   NE CRC Count            :        0       FE CRC Count         :      209
   NE ES Count             :        0       FE  ES Count         :      202
   Xdsl Reset Times        :        0       Xdsl Link  Times     :        1
   ITU Version[0]          : fe004452       ITU Version[1]       : 41590000
   VDSL Firmware Version   : 05-07-06-0D-01-07   [with Vectoring support] 
   Power Management Mode   : DSL_G997_PMS_L0 
   Test Mode               : DISABLE 
  -------------------------------- ATU-C Info ---------------------------------
   Far Current Attenuation :       18 dB    Far SNR Margin       :        6  dB
   CO ITU Version[0]       : b5004946       CO ITU Version[1]    : 544eb206
   DSLAM CHIPSET VENDOR    : < IFTN >
 
 
The plusnet customer page:
Your broadband service
  • Product: Unlimited Fibre Extra
  • Estimated Download Range: 50 - 70Mbps
  • Estimated Upload Range: 16 - 18Mbps
  • Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 44.5Mbps
  • Current Line Speed (Download): 40.4Mbps
 
 
And, results from speedtest.btwholesale from a hard wired ethernet connected to the home hub:
Timestamp Thursday 6 August 2020 | 20:13:3
Ping 21 Ms
Download 37.92 Mbps
Upload 18.74 Mbps
 
Very fishy!!! 
 
Leapy
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 908
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

@butako a very good question. I have been through a similar saga, with a new master switch and below is a post I sent to the subject t of using a BT smarthub6 on a plus-net account. 

Plusnet tell me that under 10mbps is the limit of my line and other have said, I need to check I'm really on Plusnet's Fiber Extra!

 

Whilst exploring the setting on my new BT Smarthub 6 on a Plusnet Account, I see these setting, which seem to imply that my download and upload speeds are limited.

Is there anyway to adjust them, to reflect the Plusnet Contract of  Fibre Unlimited  Extra, that I have been paying for, for the last 11 months?

 

Screenshot 2020-07-31 at 5.30.15 PM - Edited.png

Leapy
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,119
Thanks: 908
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎11-04-2017

Re: Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

@butako Your download speeds should be much better 🙂

pnfibreexta.png

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,651
Thanks: 6,668
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!


Moderators Note


This topic has been moved from ADSL Broadband to Fibre

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,459
Thanks: 5,967
Fixes: 423
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

Current Line Speed (Download): 40.4Mbps

@butako normally that value doesn't affect thoughput BUT if you have a static IP then it will.

Since this is a legacy function, a lot of the support personnel aren't aware of the possible problem.

That value should agree with your BT profile, obtainable from a BT speedtest (https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ ).

If you do have a static IP, and the value is below the BT one then call support, inform them and stress that you are on a static IP so it will be affecting your thoughput, and ask them to correct your PlusNet profile

OR you could be lucky and one of the PN help team will spot this and correct it.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 15,459
Thanks: 5,967
Fixes: 423
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

Current Line Speed (Download): 40.4Mbps

@butako normally that value doesn't affect thoughput BUT if you have a static IP then it will.

Since this is a legacy function, a lot of the support personnel aren't aware of the possible problem.

That value should agree with your BT profile, obtainable from a BT speedtest (https://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ ).

If you do have a static IP, and the value is below the BT one then call support, inform them and stress that you are on a static IP so it will be affecting your thoughput, and ask them to correct your PlusNet profile

OR you could be lucky and one of the PN help team will spot this and correct it.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

tinytaco
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Plusnet Alumni (retired)
Posts: 457
Fixes: 29
Registered: ‎30-03-2020

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

@butako Together with our network partners at Openreach we will try to provide you with the best speeds possible. If you feel this is not the case, please raise your speed fault online at faults.plus.net

 Noor
 Plusnet Help Team
butako
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2020

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

 

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I DO have a Static IP on my account and have added that info to the Ticket. Lets see.

@tinytaco my ticket is 202932830 , as you can see it has been open since 19th June, almost 2 months ago. Nobody from Plusnet has replied on it for days now. Can you please help to bump this? If it's a static ip profile issue should be a quick one to fix? 

 

dvorak
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 29,651
Thanks: 6,668
Fixes: 1,485
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Is speed capped? Line connection speed greater than IP speed test!

 

 

Moderators Note: 

Topics merged

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
butako
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2020

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

Hi Plus.Net, 

Just as another similar issue described here: https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-Broadband/Static-IP-and-reduced-download-speed/m-p/1755310 

butako
Hooked
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎06-08-2020

Re: My speed is capped? Line connection speed is greater than IP speed test!

 

Update: Plus.net removed the static IP and good news, it made a difference! Speedtest is now about 51Mbps! 

However... the plot thickens. 

1) After rebooting the modem it will initially sync at 56Mbps, and I get about 51Mbps on a speed test from the router. The modem status: (Draytek vigor 130)
VDSL2 Information 
Profile State UP Speed Down Speed SNR Upstream SNR Downstream
17A SHOWTIME 20000 (Kbps) 56379 (Kbps) 6 (dB) 6 (dB)
2) Time passes. When I next look at the modem the line sync speed has dropped to about 42Mbps and the SNR has increased to about 10dB. An IP speed test shows getting only 38Mbps at this point again.

Why? Does anyone know why the speed is very fast after a modem reboot, but several hours later has mysteriously reduced to a slower speed please? What could cause this?

As it's below the Minimum Speed Guarantee I would like Plus.net to address this please.