cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Moved to fibre broadband last December and everything has been fine until this last month.
For some reason my upload speed has dropped dramatically since the beginning of March.
Since I have changed nothing to cause this afaik, can anyone suggest a reason for this ?
I've included my download and upload graphs for the last 6 months from samknows.
11 REPLIES
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Just done a bt speedtest and my upload speed is suddenly back to a reasonable speed. I'd be interested to know what the problem was and what was done to rectify the problem.
Download speedachieved during the test was - 43.92 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speedsis 31.94 Mbps-45.64 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 45.64 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 13.27Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps
Riza
Rising Star
Posts: 109
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Depends.
I can't tell as apparently the BT Ip Profile for uploads have always been stuck on 20mbps for some reason.
It could be crosstalk from Fibre being taken from more people in your area. Or it could be REIN, electrical noise from dodgy appliances (believe me, my kettle caused REIN  Grin ).
Seeing we cannot get any snr or max attainable stats, it's impossible to tell.
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

I have suffered from REIN before at my previous address and it took a lot of work and help to convince people it was REIN and get the problem solved. I don't believe this was REIN.
I'm not a magician or do I believe in coincidences, so after a month of low upload speed, I mention it here and suddenly it is back to normal ?
This suggests an oops moment Smiley
I'm not interested in the blame game, just interested in whether it was my oops or PN's oops and what to do to prevent it happening again Smiley
Riza
Rising Star
Posts: 109
Thanks: 7
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎24-07-2014

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

That does seem strange. Could be Mods seeing threads without replying; possibly changing some configurations or something?
Every time I report that my speed has dropped they just say its in estimates and can't do anything. Once they did try to send an engineer by reporting a phone fault with a noisy line but I would just get charged as they would try to fob me off saying its my own equipment.
mav:quote
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Quote from: Riza
That does seem strange. Could be Mods seeing threads without replying; possibly changing some configurations or something?

Well it wouldn't be Mods
Quote
The forums are moderated by a team of customers; Adie (dvorak), Mike(Mav) and Dick (Strat). They volunteer their time freely and help to keep the forums a friendly and welcoming place for all.

Not saying it couldn't be staff though but the staff around here are usually quite 'interactive' and good at explaining anything they're doing.
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

I'll placehold this thread now. Just investigating for you.
Thanks for your patience.
From having a look, it seems that when you first signed up, you went for the 40/2 product which was supposed to provide a max of 2mbps upload.
As of February 24th, we altered this correctly from our side, but as of today you've changed back and I can't really explain why. I've given it a mention to our guys in products but I haven't snitched up your account so you can keep the decent upload speeds.
It's probably best to be aware that it could drop back down to a 2mbps limit, and if so, that'll be correct.
Matty
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
Thetwohoughs
Grafter
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-12-2015

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Good luck trying to get Plusnet or Openreach involved in a poor upload!
After an engineer coming out to investigate my connections poor upload sync of 8 - 9mbps  (20 estimated) I was told that the upload isn't guaranteed, the engineer ran a pair test which passed, then he said no more could be done.
Plusnet were reluctant to send a second engineer out to visit, as they suggested he'd just reach the same conclusion as the first, I didn't want Plusnet or myself to incur a fee from Openreach so the case got closed  Undecided
MattyC
Champion
Posts: 3,192
Thanks: 161
Fixes: 46
Registered: ‎10-04-2014

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

^^ Updated my post.
ex-Plusnet staffer. Any posts after 28/07/2017 aren't on behalf of Plusnet
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

ok thanks MattyC Smiley sshhhhhhhh
gtowen
Rising Star
Posts: 365
Thanks: 11
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎05-05-2013

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

That didn't last long, just under a month with my upload back to a decent speed and now it is back to under 2 Mb/s.

Time to start looking at other isp's, at least they offer 40/10 rather than Plusnet's measly 40/2 Sad

Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Is my upload been restricted for some reason ?

Sorry about that, unfortunately it looks like your account was spotted during a tidy up

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff