cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it time to move on?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 302
Fixes: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is it time to move on?

 

Hi Supraash

 

The next time you get the buffering issues, could you please run a wired speed test and a trace route (instructions here) to www.bbc.co.uk and post the results here?

 

Thanks

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?


@SUPRAASH wrote:
Hi yes it's a Samsung TV and an Amazon firestick

I had a feeling it was, hence why I asked. There have been a few others lately that have mentioned that their Samsung TV has not been behaving as it should, the problem is finding the actual reason.

As you say it's wired to the router, then a quick google search brings up a few others also having issues - this is one of the results, but some have manually updated the TV's software and this has fixed it.

But read up on doing this first, as some TV's died a slow horrible death after updating (it's all on google).

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

The TV is wireless but I have tried with the ethernet.

I'll try that. Buddy
DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

Ah, you did mention wifi and wired, but we got there in the end Smiley

 

Do research first, I did read of some Sammy TV's going toes up after an update!!

 

(but some I've read about did sort their TV with the update - downloaded to laptop, moved to USB, USB to TV)

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

so when i have buffering issues or freezing issues on the streaming on my tv i plug the laptop into the router with ethernet

open up command and type 

> tracert -6 www.bbc.co.uk



and post details ?

do i try and catch this during freezing or is it ok afterwards?

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

Capture it after it completes

Once it's done, left click on the upper left hand part of the CMD page, then with the left click still pressed swipe down to the lower right.

Let go of the left click and press the right click

(this copies the highlighted section, though you won't see it has done it)

Put it where you want it and right click and it should appear.

 

HTH

 

edit. example, nothing saved, just copied and pasted:

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.249.214]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms bthub [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.141]
4 10 ms 9 ms 10 ms 140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.140]
5 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms 195.99.125.138
6 11 ms 9 ms 9 ms peer7-et-3-1-2.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.230]
7 14 ms 11 ms 15 ms 109.159.253.15
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 9 ms 9 ms 11 ms ae1.er02.lbh.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.142]
10 29 ms 27 ms 33 ms 132.185.252.130
11 10 ms 12 ms 9 ms bbc-vip152.lbh.bbc.co.uk [212.58.249.214]

Trace complete.

(or any other method you prefer)

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

i think this may be right

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.17134.706]
(c) 2018 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\supra>> tracert www.bbc.co.uk
'www.bbc.co.uk' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Users\supra>tracert www.bbc.co.uk

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.244.70]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms bthub [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 141.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.141]
4 9 ms 9 ms 10 ms 140.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.140]
5 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms 195.99.125.142
6 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms peer8-et-3-0-5.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [109.159.252.242]
7 9 ms 10 ms 10 ms 195.99.126.71
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 14 ms 12 ms 9 ms ae0.er01.telhc.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.109]
10 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms 132.185.255.148
11 10 ms 10 ms 9 ms bbc-vip115.telhc.bbc.co.uk [212.58.244.70]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\supra>

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

just waiting for a buffer issue and ill do it agian

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

Yep, you've got it Smiley

(apart from the double >> for the first try, but we'll ignore that bit;))

 

So, it's buffering now?

Those results look perfectly fine Smiley

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

not buffering at the moment im waiting for it 

just my luck it wont happen lol

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

Yeah, the only time you want it to go toes up and it doesn't!!

 

If it does, do another tracert and we'll go from there Wink

 

(plus, see if the TV has a diagnostic menu, or just a built in speed tester - mine has both, but the diagnostic menu is hidden, trying a speed test on the TV during the buffering wouldn't be a bad idea either)

 

Or ideally, if the TV and the router are near each other, connect it via an ethernet cable instead, you may just find the buffering stops ... Smiley

SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

hi again sorry for the late reply

 

i have been busy and dont watch much tv etc.. but when i do it usually plays up

i watched some bbc iplayer and netflix earlier and it didnt play up once.. just my luck lol

ill try netflix again now and watch something and ill post back.

ill try and watch more tv over the next couple of days on the iplayer and netflix to catchup on series and ill let you guys know

DS
Champion
Posts: 2,187
Thanks: 459
Fixes: 22
Registered: ‎06-01-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

Hey, no worries, there's no clock watching here (well from me anyway;))

 

That's the thing with random issues, they're, well, random :cool:

 

Don't feel you need to rush and watch stuff for the sake of watching Smiley

(even if it doesn't occur again for weeks, there's no problem in letting us know sooner)

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,325
Thanks: 4,469
Fixes: 730
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Is it time to move on?

It may also be worth running a traceroute to pingbox1.thinkbroadband.com too as I believe the BBC as well as Google and many others can rate limit ICMP which basically means they give ping requests a lot lower priority as they'll be prioritising traffic instead of responding back in a timely manner or at all. This can affect the results.

Let us know how it goes. Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
SUPRAASH
Grafter
Posts: 50
Thanks: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2019

Re: Is it time to move on?

hi  guys i managed to watch some tv and it buffered

this is what showed

 

Tracing route to www.bbc.net.uk [212.58.249.213]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms bthub [192.168.1.254]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * 9 ms 137.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.137]
4 9 ms 9 ms 11 ms 136.hiper04.sheff.dial.plus.net.uk [195.166.143.136]
5 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 195.99.125.134
6 9 ms 9 ms 9 ms peer7-et-4-0-5.telehouse.ukcore.bt.net [194.72.16.130]
7 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms 109.159.253.15
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 10 ms 10 ms 10 ms ae1.er02.lbh.bbc.co.uk [132.185.254.142]
10 92 ms 57 ms 29 ms 132.185.252.130
11 12 ms 10 ms 10 ms bbc-vip151.lbh.bbc.co.uk [212.58.249.213]

Trace complete.

 

 

this was a minor buffer and fixed itself quickish but i ave been really busy lately.