cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it just me?

jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Is it just me?

Last year, (in between ten times a day droputs) I was bumbling along quite happily at my contracted speed of 30Mbs downoad. It hardly ever wavered. However, from the start of 2019 i have dropped to 20Mbs (quite often as high as 22Mbs). Obviously I can use Netflix and iPlayer satisfactorily so it isn't a major problem..

  Kodi? That's something else entirely.

  Very strange, Moriarty.

17 REPLIES 17
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Is it just me?

Hi @jim13 

 

Your line has been banded to 27.3Mbps for some reason. 

 

I've requested this to be lifted so your full 40/10 capabilities can be used. 

 

This shouldn't take more than a few working days at most. 

 

All the best, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Many thanks o Master.

Jim

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,573
Thanks: 262
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Is it just me?

Anytime!

Give us a shout in a few days to let us know its back where it should be. 

 

If you ever need more assistance you know where we are. 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 237
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Is it just me?

@MasterOfReality 

 

Hi

What conditions cause  a re-banding?

 

Thanks

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 927
Thanks: 112
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Is it just me?

Hi @dws1900,

It would depend on the circumstances surrounding the banding. Typically, an incorrect banding is quite a rare cause for a speed fault and would be picked up quite early into a fault investigation.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alex H
 Plusnet Help Team
dws1900
Rising Star
Posts: 237
Thanks: 31
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎17-09-2018

Re: Is it just me?

@TheMightyAJ 

 

Would the following be reasons for banding, yes or no

Congestion?

Signal to Noise?

Crosstalk?

Multiple connection disruptions?

REIN?

 

Thanks

 

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 14,229
Thanks: 4,427
Fixes: 720
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: Is it just me?

@dws1900 wrote:

Would the following be reasons for banding, yes or no

Congestion?

No.

Signal to Noise?

No.

Crosstalk?

As far as I'm aware no.

Multiple connection disruptions?

Yes.

REIN?

Yes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Will do

 

Highlighted
jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Oh woe.....

That's a week gone by and I still haven't been rebanded.

Continuing to totter along like a Morris Minor.

I blame Brexit.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 301
Fixes: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: Is it just me?

 

Apologies for the delay on this one @jim13

 

I've just chased this with our suppliers and been assured that this will definitely take place within the next 24/48 hours.

 

Best wishes

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Thanks Dave.

Jim

jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Dearie me.

 

48 hours has become 50 hours and there ain't nothin' shakin' but the leaves on the trees.

Jim

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 900
Thanks: 231
Fixes: 51
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: Is it just me?

Hi @jim13,

 

The banding request was definitely submitted, actually it was submitted twice, but as you've said it's still banded. I'm afraid as it's refusing to lift there's no option now but to book an appointment to get it done. There's a possibility that the reset did go through but then something is forcing it to be immediately reduced again in which case the best course of action is the fault process. If you could update some availability on this ticket we'll get that arranged for you.  

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Joe
 Plusnet Help Team
jim13
Grafter
Posts: 43
Thanks: 3
Registered: ‎07-05-2015

Re: Is it just me?

Thanks JOLO

I replied by email. I'm unable to use the link to raise a ticket so I'll just let it rest.

Jim