cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet drops continuously

Marius
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Internet drops continuously

Just to give you a brief description of all the facts

I moved to Plusnet from Sky in June. The switch was done due to the constant price increases from Sky and to reduce my monthly bills.

I signed up with Plusnet for ,, truly'' Unlimited Fibre

It was a good offer but never realized that I will never get proper broadband...

Since the switch happened, now nearly a month I get constant complains form all household members about the broadband speed and the lost connection, on daily basis.

We never had this issue before with sky fibre MAX with constant speeds between 40MB to 55MB/sec and no slows down on peak times.

 

I geared up all the house with booster and everywhere when the actual broadband is working and we have internet the connection is fine.

I also bought a  different router the TP-Link VR600 V2 to try it and see if that will make any difference.

We are using Netflix, Now tv and online gaming as most of the households but we are living in modern times when broadband and internet shouldn't be a reason to write an essay about it. So I did Smiley

Please anyone have any ideas how to sort this out?

Thank you

 

12 REPLIES
BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 272
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Internet drops continuously

Welcome to the forum @Marius.

I wasn't clear from your post whether the problem was wifi dropping connections to the router, or the router dropping the connection to the internet. If you don't know for sure, with luck, someone from Plusnet will be on the Forum tomorrow and would have access to a log of when your internet connection drops.

Whichever it is, does it happen with both the Hub and your new TP router?

Marius
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Internet drops continuously

Good morning,

Thank you for your reply.

Yes there is no internet however the blue light on the router stays on.

It does happen when connected wireless on all devices ( by the way who using in those days wired connection in the house?)

If I will take right away my laptop and then connect it with the patch cable the pages are still offline

That will happen with TP link router and with their router 

Also at the pick time broadband is s..t tbh

I hope the information above will help 

BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 272
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Internet drops continuously

The Plusnet people are active in the Forum today, and may well pick this up. If they don't, or if you want to move things along, report as a fault.

To report a fault, run though the checks at https://www.plus.net/help/broadband/connection-troubleshooting/ and report a fault at https://www.plus.net/apps/kbdfaults It takes a bit of your time but costs you nothing, and makes Plusnet aware of your issue, they have to look at it, and gets the issue into the queue for action. Don't use Firefox for the BT speed test as, currently, there is a problem with that browser running that test.

Please let us know how you get on.

 
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 309
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 13
Registered: 11-01-2018

Re: Internet drops continuously

 

Hi @Marius,

 

Thanks for getting in touch.

 

I've tested your connection today and everything looks fine from our side. Your connection is stable and is syncing up at around 65mb/s,

 

I'd strongly recommend ensuring that you've covered all of our wifi troubleshooting here before considering raising a fault as the majority of elements that are covered by the fault process are reporting no faults at present. 

 

I'd also suggest running one device via a wired connection for a period of 24 hours to ascertain whether these issues occur via a wired connection (rather than just being present when you switch from wifi).

 

Let us know how you get on.

 

Best wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
Marius
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi Dave,

I know that I should be getting the speed you are talking about as I use to get it with Sky before the switchbut that is not the speed I am getting now.

Is not even peak time and everything is shocking ...

I have checked my equipment and I am satisfied that this is not the cause of the problem. I hope this issue can be resolved shortly but, if you are unable to do so, please tell me the next steps in your complaints procedure or issue a deadlock letter outlining your final position.

 

Many thanks

Marius

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 13,396
Thanks: 243
Fixes: 68
Registered: 27-04-2007

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi Marius, 

 

We'd not be able to go down the path of deadlock without us first making sure we've done what we can with you to make sure the issue us resolved. 

 

Have you tried specifically changing the WiFi channel that the router connects to?

 

Adam 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Adam Walker
 Plusnet Help Team
Marius
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi Adam,

 

We have changed the wireless channel from Auto to 6, 9, 11 and 13.

I think we done everything possible but still we are experiencing slowing down in service ( speeds between 19 to 24 Mbps)

Today I didn't have to restart the router and we had connection for the entire day which is a surprise to us to be honest but fingers crossed.

Now I just done at speed test and the connection is fine ( really happy with that as yesterday at this time we had around 5Mbps)

I don't really ask for much just constant service and the guaranteed speed .

If you guys can offer what has been promised when I signed up the contract I don't have any issues paying.

Unfortunately I am not the guy who is paying or eating a bad meal in a restaurant so you know it.

Thank you

Marius

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 301
Thanks: 78
Fixes: 15
Registered: 22-01-2018

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hello @Marius

I'm afraid to say we don't guarantee wireless along with most other providers given the mass amount of things out of our and your contract that can interfere with the connection type. Having said this we do advise everything we can in order to get your signal as strong as possible in order to get around any wireless interference in the area, which is why we have asked you to run through the trouble shooting guides for wireless connections. 

We are sorry this have not helped and there are a few other things we can try. Firstly can you come back to us advising if you have the Hub one connected?

Can you also confirm if you have tried a wired connection, and if so does the same issue occur?

 

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 SammyM
 Plusnet Help Team
Marius
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi Sammy,
I can confirm that we are at this stage connected to the internet using the Plusnet Hub.
I have to disagree with you in regards with wireless connections, if we had before wireless without any issues what can be any difference now when we done the switch. Are you telling me that I should go around the house with my iPhone connected to a cable? Guys please don’t try to wiggle your way out from providing bad internet service
That’s all I am asking and don’t come with lame excuses
We are in 2018 and people are using wireless connectivity not cables
Simple just sort it out
PacketLoss
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Thanks: 4
Registered: 29-11-2016

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi Marius,

 

I don't see the PN guys looking to "wiggle" their way out, they seem to be trying to help and are following the standard process for troubleshooting.

It's essential from a troubleshooting perspective that they isolate if it's a line problem, modem problem or local environment problem and the quickest way to do that is to see if everything works as expected on a wired connection. Recognise you're frustrated but it's an essential step in diagnosing issues.

For your information though, no two wireless access points or modems are the same, both in terms of the hardware/software but also the configuration (some of it is automatic, such as channel selection). If it does end up being wireless, you might be able to re-use your old providers modem on the PN line.

 

Cheers!

BrightonRock
Pro
Posts: 272
Thanks: 81
Fixes: 5
Registered: 09-04-2016

Re: Internet drops continuously

As I understand it, you get the same (wifi) problems with both the Plusnet Hub 1 and with the TP router that you bought recently? Also, you used to have a Sky connection (ADSL or fibre?) and using the Sky router you didn't have these wifi problems?

I really don't think that this is going to help (given that the problem is there with the TP as well) but it is a simple change that eliminates another variable. There have been reports that some kit, particularly Apple kit, can get confused by the Hub 1 broadcasting wifi on 2 frequencies. There can be problems when devices decide to switch from one to the other,  and reports of even dropping the connection. It might be worth separating the two signals. @bill888 has posted how to do that for a Hub 1 at https://community.plus.net/t5/My-Router/Devices-stop-working-on-5-GHz-connection-Wifi-drops/m-p/1395....

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 328
Thanks: 98
Fixes: 20
Registered: 26-03-2018

Re: Internet drops continuously

Hi @Marius 

 

There are a large number of potential reasons for slow speeds and sometimes these are difficult to track down.

 

If a wired connection works correctly, it's likely the Wireless problem lies between your router and your devices which we don't have visibility of..

 

Unfortunately due to the way WiFi works there are a lot of environmental factors which can affect the wireless signal.

 

As @PacketLoss says there are differences in each bit of kit when it comes to hard/software etc. 

 

@BrightonRock is correct with the frequency info - have you managed to take a look at the forum post he linked? 

 

Let us know how you get on with this 

 

Thanks 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Alisdair C
 Plusnet Help Team