cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP Profile Reset

FIXED
blandyuk
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Registered: 3 weeks ago

IP Profile Reset

Hi all,

Just moved to a new house and initial broadband attainable speeds were not good mainly due to awful wiring in the house. Around 4 sockets, some with 3 wires croned in! Attainable speed was ~22399 Kbps so bad.

Anyway, disconnected them all from the main wire and installed a new master socket so nothing else now, nice and clean.

My DrayTek says my attainable speed is now down ~95174 Kbps with up to 30026 Kbps.

Seems my IP Profile is stuck unless I need to wait a few days? Any help would be great.

Thanks!

22 REPLIES 22
RichardB
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 808
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: IP Profile Reset

Hi @blandyuk
What are the current connection speeds, attenuation and noise margins?
Attainable speeds are only estimates.
What does https://www.broadbandchecker.btwholesale.com/#/ADSL report for the expected line speeds?
Regards
Richard
blandyuk
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: IP Profile Reset

Hi, just spoken with Plusnet and it should sort itself out in the next few days. The logs their end could see errors but since yesterday, its been fine so seems to be sorted so hopefully the line will re-profile over next few days.

I'll see what happens.

Baldrick1
Seasoned Hero
Posts: 6,515
Thanks: 2,938
Fixes: 191
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: IP Profile Reset

@blandyuk 
If it doesn’t improve then ask for the results of a GEA test. That will tell you/us (if you copy it here) whether the line is banded. If it is then Plusnet can ask for a reset. This can get missed by some less experienced Plusnet agents.

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 692
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: IP Profile Reset

Post Deleted by @RealAleMadrid

blandyuk
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: IP Profile Reset

OK, thanks for the replies. It has increased, so hopefully it will sort itself in a few more days. Here are some screenshots:

DrayTek DSL Status: https://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpg

https://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpghttps://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpghttps://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpghttps://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpghttps://snipboard.io/uVvKbF.jpgBT Wholesale Check: https://snipboard.io/1Gg0RU.jpg

 

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,505
Thanks: 7,308
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: IP Profile Reset

Those stats indicate that the line is banded - you will need Plusnet to rectify this.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Champion
Posts: 1,547
Thanks: 692
Fixes: 36
Registered: ‎07-07-2009

Re: IP Profile Reset

@blandyuk  What Plusnet fibre product have you got?  Your modem/router stats suggest you are on the Unlimited fibre i.e 40Mbps down /10 Mbps up is this what you expect, your line will obviously support the Fibre Extra service 80/20 Mbps.

@Townman  Don't think it banded apart from being capped at 40/10 by the product. The odd thing is that the observed speed on the checker is 76.21 Mbps down which is not possible with the supplied stats, I have seen a few examples of the checker observed speed being somewhat suspicious.🙄

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,505
Thanks: 7,308
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: IP Profile Reset

Doh!!  I had not considered the possibility of being on basic fibre! 🙃

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

MisterW
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 9,685
Thanks: 2,542
Fixes: 188
Registered: ‎30-07-2007

Re: IP Profile Reset

The odd thing is that the observed speed on the checker is 76.21 Mbps down which is not possible with the supplied stats, I have seen a few examples of the checker observed speed being somewhat suspicious.

My theory is that it is not actually the maximum observed speed, rather it is the 'Observed Maximum speed' i.e it is the calculated maximum speed from the observed line stats.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

blandyuk
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: IP Profile Reset

I'm on Unlimited Fibre Extra 80/20.

Estimated peak time speeds:

Download: 67 - 72Mb
Upload: 17 - 18Mb

These are the speeds your line is capable of at peak times.

Current line speed: 38.4Mb

This is a measure of the actual line speed you are now receiving based on the product you have taken.

Minimum Guaranteed Speed: 62Mb

This is the minimum speed you should expect to achieve on your line.

Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,505
Thanks: 7,308
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: IP Profile Reset

Fix

In which case my comment above stands.  Either...

  1. You have been provisioned on the wrong product (40/10) instead of Extra
  2. Your line has been banded

No amount of waiting will fix either of these scenarios.

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.

blandyuk
Hooked
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Re: IP Profile Reset

OK, thanks. Called Plusnet, and they confirmed I was banded, so they have removed the restriction so will give a couple of days and will see.

Thanks for the help so far all Smiley

Gandalf
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 19,315
Thanks: 6,520
Fixes: 1,076
Registered: ‎21-04-2017

Re: IP Profile Reset

Thanks for your post @blandyuk and welcome to our community forums.

Looking into this, your fibre isn't actually banded. We've provisioned you on 40/10 in error and the adviser you've spoken to has raised a request for our automated system to place a modify order to change the provisioned speed to 80/20.

This should go through tomorrow, normally in the early hours. Let us know how you get on Smiley

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Townman
Superuser
Superuser
Posts: 17,505
Thanks: 7,308
Fixes: 71
Registered: ‎22-08-2007

Re: IP Profile Reset

OK ... so the other option was applicable ... good that the questioning has non-the-less delivered a good resolution! 😉

Superusers are not staff, but they do have a direct line of communication into the business in order to raise issues, concerns and feedback from the community.