cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IP Geolocation Question

Biz55
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-01-2016

IP Geolocation Question

I live in Northern Ireland and would like to access Republic of Ireland television websites. Anyone who is detected as resident on the island of Ireland can have full access.
So I require an IP address which is geographically specific to N. Ireland.
Does anyone know if Plusnet can provide this ?
10 REPLIES
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 18,217
Thanks: 1,576
Fixes: 172
Registered: 11-01-2008

Re: IP Geolocation Question

PN can't might be able to, but there may be VPN services that can  e.g. https://www.purevpn.com/server_location.php
edit: corrected my mistake.

Customer / Moderator / If it helped click the thumb / If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'

Biz55
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-01-2016

Re: IP Geolocation Question

Thanks  dvorak
I may consider the vpn route but I just wanted to check that there was no free way of doing this. I believe that some other ISPs maintain a pool of IPs specifically for NI.
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,161
Thanks: 932
Fixes: 77
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: IP Geolocation Question

If you purchase a static IP then we can contact Neustar and ask them to geographically locate it in NI. I've personally done it for a few customers in the past. I assume it's the RTE Player content you're wanting access to?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Biz55
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-01-2016

Re: IP Geolocation Question

Yes indeed Bob it's RTE Player that I want to access.
How much does a static IP cost ?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,161
Thanks: 932
Fixes: 77
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: IP Geolocation Question

One off charge of £5. It can be added via the Add Ons section of the Member Centre.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Biz55
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-01-2016

Re: IP Geolocation Question

Thanks a million Bob. I have just changed to a static IP.
What do I do next to change to NI location ?
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,161
Thanks: 932
Fixes: 77
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: IP Geolocation Question

I'll drop you a message tomorrow when I'm back in the office.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵

Biz55
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 04-01-2016

Re: IP Geolocation Question

That's great ! Thanks again.
Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: IP Geolocation Question

Now that was good customer service, Cheesy Grin    try that with some of the other big ISP's
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 13,161
Thanks: 932
Fixes: 77
Registered: 04-04-2007

Re: IP Geolocation Question

RTE's geolocation provider have now updated the assignment for your IP to reflect the fact that you're in Northern Ireland. The updated assignment will be made available in their next data release scheduled for the weekend of January 16th.
It may take RTE a little longer to adopt the changes.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵