cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I've moved to the USA - apparently

FIXED
Shackman205
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-01-2015

I've moved to the USA - apparently

At the beginning of this week my modem decided to reset itself at about 0200 in the morning. When I logged on during the day I found that almost all the websites I normally visited that offered 'retail opportunities' were quoting me prices in US dollars instead of £ sterling. Further investigation showed that I appeared to be connected to an IP address in Texas -  150.143.59.223 (BT Americas) but still showing as a Plusnet  server - and that I couldn't download UK specific items such as BBC iPlayer. I tried a couple of resets but couldn't shift it, but then left it as I didn't want the dreaded BT DLM to start interfering as speeds were still unchanged although ping scores had increased slightly

This was sorted by another undemanded overnight 'reset', and I'm now connected to a UK server (146.200.204.14Cool - but a lot of sites still think I'm in the States! What have I done wrong?

5 REPLIES
Gel
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 1,497
Thanks: 153
Fixes: 12
Registered: 02-08-2007

Re: I've moved to the USA - apparently

If you're not using a PN supplied router (which is locked), try changing your router DNS settings to Google's - see if that helps?
8.8.8.8
8.8.4.4
Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 972
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 33
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: I've moved to the USA - apparently

There has been lots of similar problems recently which were caused by Plusnet obtaining IP addresses from the States. One way around it may be to install a free VPN service. Following advice here, https://community.plus.net/t5/Tech-Help-Software-Hardware-etc/Holiday-home-in-France-how-to-setup-a-..., I have installed Winscribe as a browser extension to my  Chrome browser. You get 10GB free per month and can easily switch it in or out. If you find a problematic website you can switch it in and select the destination as UK. The only snag I can see is that being a secure VPM, it does not transmit your IP address so this could cause problems. Having said that, it costs nothing to try it out. 

RichardB
Pro
Posts: 343
Thanks: 99
Fixes: 4
Registered: 19-11-2008

Re: I've moved to the USA - apparently

Another way around the IP address problem is to pay a one off £5 to have a static IP address.

https://www.plus.net/AddOns.html

 

To date PN have not used the troublesome "imported" IP addresses for their static IP addresses.

 

 

Baldrick1
Champion
Posts: 972
Thanks: 450
Fixes: 33
Registered: 30-06-2016

Re: I've moved to the USA - apparently

Fix

I'm aware of that but also aware that the supply is limited so was offering another suggestion for those who neither want or need a fixed address. Windscribe is also ideal for browsing generally without attracting targetted junk..

Shackman205
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Registered: 29-01-2015

Re: I've moved to the USA - apparently

Thanks for both suggestions - I'm having a look at Winscribe now.

I should have added that this happened to me whilst still on ADSL before Christmas, and I was advised by PN that they had bought some IP addresses from the states but that they were all being transferred to the UK - and withing two days I had 'returned to the fold' with no further action.

This time tho' I was more concerned as I was back on a UK server after a couple of days, but still apparently in the USA for on line purposes!