cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

doctorlai
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 16-08-2015

I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

I moved to CB24 Fen Drayton since July 1st. It has been 6 weeks.
I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed more than 40Mbps
and tonight. the fibre is slow as a ADSL..
http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/4587308586
i use WIFI but a good, stable fibre should at least gives me sometimes  more than 50Mbps...
I even purchase a dual-antenna WIFI to enhance the wireless connections... My laptop is not bad, with Windows 10, SSD, 16GB RAM,..
9 REPLIES
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,598
Thanks: 699
Fixes: 67
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

Hi Doc
Welcome to the forum.
1. What speed has Plusnet set your  line to? You can find it here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed and it will ask for your Plusnet username and password.
2. Please try and test from a wired connection as Plusnet staff will ask you to do that.
3. Please run the speed test at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and select the "Further Diagnostics" after the initial speed test. You will need to enter only your phone number in the next page. Please copy the text from the resulting page and post here.
4. What does this return http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
5. What router are you using?
Thank you
Andrue
Pro
Posts: 775
Thanks: 90
Fixes: 1
Registered: 12-01-2015

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

Quote from: doctorlai
i use WIFI but a good, stable fibre should at least gives me sometimes  more than 50Mbps...
Only if your wifi connection is capable of it. These days unless you're on the newer 5GHz band you'll probably have too much local congestion with your neighbours. In any case Wifi is never the best choice if speed is your main concern. That's why anyone who helps you investigate this is going to ask you to use a fully wired connection.
doctorlai
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

I will test it tonight....
Telephone number:
0195*******
Phone exchange:
CAXTON
Estimated line speed:
2.0Mb (Download speed could vary depending on line conditions. Estimates are the maximum speeds that your phone line can support. These speeds are dependent on the package you choose.) - Checked on 2015-07-01 15:12:14
Current line speed:
77.4 Mb
dick:green Full telephone number removed from a public forum.

Quote from: georgelnx
Hi Doc
Welcome to the forum.
1. What speed has Plusnet set your  line to? You can find it here https://portal.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed and it will ask for your Plusnet username and password.
2. Please try and test from a wired connection as Plusnet staff will ask you to do that.
3. Please run the speed test at http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and select the "Further Diagnostics" after the initial speed test. You will need to enter only your phone number in the next page. Please copy the text from the resulting page and post here.
4. What does this return http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway/
5. What router are you using?
Thank you
PeeGee
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 1,099
Thanks: 51
Fixes: 3
Registered: 05-04-2009

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

It is probably not wise to provide your full phone number - just the std code if you must.
Phil
Plusnet Fibre (Sep 2014), Essentials (Feb 2013); ADSL (Apr 2009); Customer since Jan 2004 (on 28kb dial-up)
Using a TP-Link TD-W9980 modem-router.
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 897
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

Your current line speed is reported as 77.4 mbps.
If you switch off the wifi on your laptop and connect it direct to the router using an ethernet cable, hopefully your speed tests will be closer to 77mbps.
As pointed out by Andrue, if you realistically want wifi speeds above 40mbps,  you need to look at using 5GHz wifi.  ie. buy a new dual band router.
The wifi card fitted inside your laptop may or may not support 5 GHz wifi.  Go to Device Manager->Network Adapters, and identify the model of wifi card fitted.  Also what is the make/model number of the laptop.
doctorlai
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

Thanks..
just copy&paste didn't notice the phone number but anyway I don't have a phone in my house so that number is unreachable.. Smiley
Quote from: PeeGee
It is probably not wise to provide your full phone number - just the std code if you must.
Phil

doctorlai
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

My laptop is Lenovo Thinkpad T520.
Quote from: zZz
Your current line speed is reported as 77.4 mbps.
If you switch off the wifi on your laptop and connect it direct to the router using an ethernet cable, hopefully your speed tests will be closer to 77mbps.
As pointed out by Andrue, if you realistically want wifi speeds above 40mbps,  you need to look at using 5GHz wifi.  ie. buy a new dual band router.
The wifi card fitted inside your laptop may or may not support 5 GHz wifi.  Go to Device Manager->Network Adapters, and identify the model of wifi card fitted.  Also what is the make/model number of the laptop.
bill888
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 897
Thanks: 130
Fixes: 24
Registered: 18-10-2008

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

The T520 was offered with one of many different wifi adapters
As mentioned previously, look in Windows by right clicking on Start menu, and choose: Device Manager->Network Adapters, to see what is actually fitted.
These were the only dual band wifi card options available for the T520:
Intel 6205, FRU: 60Y3253   (300 mbps, 2x2)
Intel 6300, FRU: 60Y3233   (450 mbps, 3x3)



doctorlai
Newbie
Posts: 5
Registered: 16-08-2015

Re: I paid for 70Mbps fibre ultimate but never got the speed

Finally -  Grin
Case Study – Optimize WIFI by using WiFi Repeater and Powerline Adapter
https://helloacm.com/case-study-optimize-wifi-by-using-wifi-repeater-and-powerline-adapter/


Quote from: zZz
The T520 was offered with one of many different wifi adapters
As mentioned previously, look in Windows by right clicking on Start menu, and choose: Device Manager->Network Adapters, to see what is actually fitted.
These were the only dual band wifi card options available for the T520:
Intel 6205, FRU: 60Y3253   (300 mbps, 2x2)
Intel 6300, FRU: 60Y3233   (450 mbps, 3x3)