cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One vs Home Hub 5

jslane
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: 06-06-2013

Hub One vs Home Hub 5

Is the new Hub One better than the BT Home Hub 5?
9 REPLIES
christinelinney
Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: 09-01-2016

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

hi
i am having all sort of problems with my plusnet one modem but the worse of all is the wifi feature i get less than half using wifi the range is really poor too. than i do wired i am to on fibre extra 
SpendLessTime
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,411
Thanks: 604
Fixes: 54
Registered: 21-09-2009

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

@john.s
The Hub One is a re-badged BT Home Hub 5 Type A with Plusnet branding, no-one has found any other differences.
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

@John-S
The answer is probably not. The Hub One is based on the HH5A, but the firmware has been customised we believe only as far as the skinning and removal of BT-Wifi. Have you read this thread?
@christinelinney
Hi there, welcome to the forum.
That doesn't sound good. Wifi performance on these is supposedly amongst some of the best.
What device(s) exactly are connecting via wireless giving the slower speed? Don't forget if they are connecting to the 5Ghz wireless instead of the 2.4Ghz the range will be less depending on the layout and construction of your property.
What sort of other problems are you having with it?
Can you do a copy and paste of the Helpdesk page which you'll find on the Troubleshooting tab (login needed).
When you paste it, redact the last part of the serial number, the first part of your username, the SSIDs and the MAC address.
jslane
Grafter
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Registered: 06-06-2013

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

Thanks! Seems to be the same router I have then so no benefit. Still not bad as it's free with £6.99 delivery charge so handy to know or have if the HH5 dies.
jafreer
Rising Star
Posts: 823
Thanks: 48
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

I don't have the Hub One but I do have the HomeHub 5A (I think both are functionally identical and use the same hardware).
I find the HH5A a decent router. I have been running it for 6 months now and haven't had any issues (other than it took the firmware a while to update to the most recent, that was just an annoyance however).
The wireless range I find very good. It has remained connected for months on end with no issues or dropouts. It has gigabit ethernet ports, dual band wireless, you can connect a USB drive to make it available to everything on the network.
And of course it has a built in VDSL modem (although you can also use it with a separate modem).
That is reasonable functionality for a PlusNet offering.
Minus points are that you don't have the same level of features or configurability that some of the higher end routers have. It won't respond to pings from the internet (so you can't run a broadband quality monitor - though there are ways around that).
Oh, and switch off the 'smart wi-fi' feature as it seems to cause no end of problems. Switching it off lets you give each wi-fi network (2.4GHz and 5GHz) its own SSID. Then everything works great.
Unless you really want a lot of features in your router, the HH5A / Hub One is a decent modem/router.
nadger
Rising Star
Posts: 4,498
Thanks: 46
Registered: 13-04-2007

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

I bought HH4 two years ago and have used it until switch to fibre last Tuesday.
Can't see any problems with Hub One as far as wi-fi is concerned.
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 26,172
Thanks: 1,322
Fixes: 58
Registered: 14-04-2007

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

My daughter's TP-Link router failed a couple of weeks ago and I put in a Hub One as a temporary measure while a decent replacement I had ordered, arrived.
I was pleasantly surprised at the Hub One's performance both ADSL and WiFi around her house.
The ordered and paid for replacement provides more features which I was looking for but apart from that the Hub One would have been quite acceptable to her.

Customer and Forum Moderator.

Mal08
Rising Star
Posts: 562
Thanks: 6
Fixes: 2
Registered: 20-08-2008

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

I've been using a HH5 for about 3 weeks now and the only time it has dropped was when it downloaded the latest firmware and reset.
We only have a small home, but it covers it all with no problems. It's great having 5G band as I can't detect anyone else close by so I get uninterupted coverage.
For the average user I think it does the job well - just what PN and BT should be supplying as their standard router.
Those with more specialised needs can always by a premium product
Community Veteran
Posts: 19,100
Thanks: 437
Fixes: 21
Registered: 31-08-2007

Re: Hub One vs Home Hub 5

Quote from: John
...Still not bad as it's free with £6.99 delivery charge so handy to know or have if the HH5 dies.

I think you'll find it's only "free" if you are moving to Fibre (from ADSL or maybe another ISP) or if you can agree a re-contracted term with Customer Options as detailed in the other thread.