cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub One randomly dropping internet connection

Malvern09

Hub One randomly dropping internet connection

We 'upgraded' from ADSL to VDSL a couple of months ago. As part of the upgrade Plusnet sent us a Hub One router. We have two PCs and a BT YouView box, all on ethernet. Ever since the Hub One arrived, we've been plagued by dropouts, with one or other PC losing internet, while the other keeps working. The other scenario is that if both PCs are switched off before the TV box is turned on (i.e. there is nothing active on the line), the TV box can't connect. The problem can only be cured by rebooting the router. We have been complaining to Plusnet constantly, keeping a full log of our reboots. Looking at the pattern of these dropouts, the logical conclusion (I am a sound engineer, so reasonably technical) is that there is a fault with the router, but Plusnet adamantly refuse to countenance such a possiblity. They have twice sent Open Reach engineers out. The first found nothing wrong, but replaced the old master socket for good measure. The second engineer (a couple of days ago), ran full line tests, and found absolutely nothing wrong with the line. We've been Plusnet customers for many years, but possibly not for much longer, if they don't start taking our problem seriously. Has anyone else had this problem?

4 REPLIES 4
bobpullen
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Fixes: 316

Re: Hub One randomly dropping internet connection

Is there anything telling in the router's event log when this happens (visible from the 'Troubleshooting' section of the router interface)?
Is there any change to the LED status on the front of the hub when any of these 'drops' occur?
When you say the TV box can't connect, is all Internet connectivity lost, or just certain channels?
When a PC drops connection, are you still able to access the router interface at 192.168.1.254 from that device?

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team