cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long to activate fibre?

lnboyle
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-08-2017

How long to activate fibre?

Hi all,
Recently set up a fibre order with plusnet (17/08/17) and everything has been going fine. Network Engineer set everything up on 18/08/17. Collected my router today (29/08/17) , plugged it in and still no broadband. Ive recieved two texts telling me two different days for when it will be active, the 26th of August and then the 6th of September.

The plusnet help page says it should take a week so can anyone suggest a reason as to why its possibly taking nearly 3? Dont want to pay for the first month if im not going to have any broadband for 3/4's of it.

Thank you for any help
8 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,214
Thanks: 170
Fixes: 29
Registered: 13-08-2015

Re: How long to activate fibre?

It will depend on local engineer availability. Your billing won't start until the service activated, so you won't pay for something you don't have.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,808
Thanks: 1,058
Fixes: 234
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

Hi there,

Your fibre service will go live on the 5th September. It's been delayed due to engineer availability, apologies for the inconvenience caused but let us know how your activation goes.

 

Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
lnboyle
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-08-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

Hi,
Thanks for letting me know. Can I ask what still has to be done? The engineer from openreach said that everything had been sorted and that it was literally a switch to be flicked kind of deal.

Mainly asking cause we are 4 computer science students and having no internet is hindering our ability to work, etc. Thank you for any help you can give.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,808
Thanks: 1,058
Fixes: 234
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

An engineer would need to complete jumpering work at the cabinet.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
lnboyle
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-08-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

One last quick question, when the engineer had come back from the box in the street, he said that our download speed was 40Mbps. Is his estimate wrong because the line hasnt been activated yet and needs time to settle? (welcome email said 72Mb min)
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,808
Thanks: 1,058
Fixes: 234
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

The product we've ordered from our suppliers is 80/20. If you have any problems with your speed after it's been activated I'd recommend raising a fault to us at http://faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
lnboyle
Newbie
Posts: 4
Registered: 29-08-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

Ok, thank you very much for all your help.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 4,808
Thanks: 1,058
Fixes: 234
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How long to activate fibre?

No problems, let us know how it goes.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team