cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

My Estimated speed was given as 74Mb.
I am into day 12 and im currently only getting 58Mb.
Before moving to Plusnet i was with BT for years and got a steady 72-74Mb

So how long before this speeds up to the estimated 74Mb?

Thanks.

27 REPLIES
RealAleMadrid
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 649
Thanks: 239
Fixes: 10
Registered: 07-07-2009

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

There is no 10 day settling period on FTTC although BT seem to say it exists. What are your  modem/router connection speeds if you can access them. You could also check your IP profile on the BT wholesale speed checker using the Further Diagnostics button, if it works for you. (Can be a bit unreliable)  With some evidence it may be possible to offer advice on your low speed issue.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Have you tried restarting the modem / router?

Are you using a router from Plusnet or the same one you used with BT?

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

My router speeds say 58Mb too, also the BT Wholesale checker says this and the Plusnet website says im connected at 58.4Mb. I didnt try the Further diagnostics though.

I did restart the router and im using the plusnet one. Althgouh i still have the BT one, is that any better?

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

If it's the homehub 5A then it's the same as the PN one.

If it's the HomeHub 5B then it's better and well worth trying.

 

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Its probably an A, its quite old now and all the menus on the PN one look just like the BT router.

I tried the further diagnostics on the BT wholesale site but it just told me the same and that an error occurred.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,840
Thanks: 101
Fixes: 6
Registered: 21-01-2013

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

If you look on the base of the BT router it will say if it's a model A or B.

 

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

I looked, it's an A.
I might try it later anyway.

Plusnet Staff
Plusnet Staff
Posts: 17,641
Thanks: 535
Fixes: 159
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Hi there,

 

Based on the estimates for your line I'd expect your service to be connecting higher than it currently is.

 

The router is connecting through at 59.8Mb/s and an issue is being detected in the line.

 

Is the router plugged in to the master socket, no extension leads in use?

I'd advise getting this reported to us as a fault at https://faults.plus.net

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Router is into the Master socket and no extensions.

Ive reported the fault, thanks.

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Today i had this posted on my fault report thingy.

KBDGEA Test Detail
 
Circuit ID NA Service ID  
 
 
Test Outcome Fail
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_1624
Description Impairment in copper joint detected most likely close to customer premises. Please continue to submit a trouble report.
Main Fault Location CA
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 60.1 Mbps
Upstream Speed 19.0 Mbps
Appointment Required Y
Fault Report Advised Y

 

BT Estimates WP Profile CLT TAM NIC ODC
79-80 Generic Speed 57800 No Time Out Pass N/a Pass Done

 

Summary- MGALS 73.73Mb
- Raised to BTW 3-410182940337
- SFI requested



Can anyone explain whats going on?
What worries me is this part "Impairment in copper joint detected most likely close to customer premises."

Unless someone broke something when they switched me over from BT to PS then quite frankly it's bullcrap.
Going from a perfectly stable 72-74Mb line to a 58-60Mb line in the time it took to switch it over?

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Actually this too

Main Fault Location CA

So CA is "Fault found on Customers Apparatus"
What Apparatus? Like i said nothing has changed except im using the PN router, everything else is exactly the same except for what ever the engineer did at the exchange.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 6,234
Thanks: 1,680
Fixes: 321
Registered: 21-04-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Hi there,

 

From those results the tests appear to be pointing towards an internal fault, which doesn't necessarily mean the fault is internal though, just that we'd need to book an engineer appointment to progress the fault.

It looks like the fault ticket is in the process of being worked by our faults team, I'd expect them to contact you today.


Anoush

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Anoush Mortazavi
 Plusnet Help Team
Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Just got a call, engineer booked to come on monday.
Can't see the point, as i said nothing changed here only the router, plus whatever they did at the exchange etc.

Briggers
Dabbler
Posts: 16
Registered: 08-08-2017

Re: How long before my line "settles" at the estimated speed?

Also

"Please note if an engineer visits your premises and the fault is found to be caused by your equipment, internal wiring or as a result of damage to BT equipment a charge of £65 will apply."

Well if it is my equipment(i.e. router) i wont be paying anything, PN can pay it.
And if they try to say it's the internal wiring, i'd like to know how that got damaged in the few hours it took to switch over to PN.