cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High upload SNR

slime
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 26-11-2008

High upload SNR

Hi,
For year my down and up SNR have been about 60 (X 0.1db) on the Draytek. Recently (sometime in the last few months) the up SNR is now more like 120. The down is still 58.
Any ideas? Nothing has changed that I know of.
Thanks.
9 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: High upload SNR

which product are you on and what are the full stats
slime
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 26-11-2008

Re: High upload SNR

Plus.net FTTC fibre unlimited 80/20.
From the Draytek router:
VDSL Information      (VDSL Firmware Version:   1414c3 )
 Profile State UP Speed Down Speed SNR Upstream SNR Downstream
 17a Showtime 19998 (Kbps) 68489 (Kbps) 144 (0.1dB) 56 (0.1dB)
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: High upload SNR

So basically your line has perhaps improved or perhaps G.INP has been added to the upstream or I have no idea  Embarrassed
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,665
Thanks: 658
Fixes: 162
Registered: 05-04-2007

Re: High upload SNR

Honestly I wouldn't worry about it, it's not causing any impact on your sync speeds.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
slime
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 26-11-2008

Re: High upload SNR

Fair point. Thanks guys. Is a higher figure better then?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,030
Fixes: 62
Registered: 15-06-2007

Re: High upload SNR

it is when you have hit the speed limit for the product
slime
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 26-11-2008

Re: High upload SNR

So because I'm at 20meg up and thus hit the limit the SNR goes up?  If so, that explains everything. If only the down SNR would go up as well by hitting the limit!!
The router tells me the attainable up rate is 24 meg but the product is capped at 20.
jafreer
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 844
Thanks: 54
Registered: 13-10-2012

Re: High upload SNR

Quote from: slime
So because I'm at 20meg up and thus hit the limit the SNR goes up?

Yes, because VDSL2 is adaptive and has a target SNR margin (usually 6dB). So the rate you get is usually determined by that 6dB SNR margin. Since you have such a good upload speed and are already at the maximum rate for the product, there is no need to have a target 6dB. That 14.4dB SNR margin you have shows there is lots of SNR margin to spare (if that makes sense). It is a really good position to be in.
As to why it has increased, as the other posters have said, it could be any number of reasons, including G.Inp being applied on the line (although I don't think that alone would account for such an increase), changes to your internal wiring, changes to the wiring between the cabinet and your property etc.
slime
Grafter
Posts: 34
Registered: 26-11-2008

Re: High upload SNR

Thanks for the great explanation Smiley