cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

High packet loss and other DNS issues

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

I've checked my profile on the BT wholesale checker and it is stated as 53.18 down 10 up, so I am definately limited somewhere in the system on my download speed at around 20MB. I am sure that somewhere in the member centre you used to be able to see what your line speed (and therefore any cap) was but i cant find it any more.

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 947
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@iain_lee line speed link here

Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎01-08-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

Thanks @Browni - that was the link I was looking for - it reports my current line speed as 21Mb !

I think something in the system needs a kick as I am synced up at far more than that!

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-07-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@iain_lee yeh, and for some reason they stopped showing the upload speed on packages... i can't see my "estimates" on my account, but plusnet have them for me via dslchecker, even though the higher end (32-45 mine=37 max) is impossible for me to hit for unknown reasons despite being 0.2km from the cab and the guy across the road can get 80/20 connecting to the same cab

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

My connection has still been really bad this evening and the usertools page says I am on Colindale. I reset my connection and it is still no better, started a new ping test for my new IP tonight which shows a lot of packet loss still.

 

Before reset:

My Broadband Ping - PlusNet

Live chart:

My Broadband Ping - PlusNet #2

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-07-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@mnewtonuk  can you tell me how to find this user tools page? the only tools page i can see has some postcode finder on it and that's it...

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

 

http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway Is probably what you are looking for

Moderator's note by Mike (Mav): Full quote of preceding post removed as per Forum rules

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎21-01-2013

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@KS25 I just used the link that Dave posted - http://usertools.plus.net/@gateway

 

For me it said:

You are currently connected to gateway pcn-ir01.

This is located in Colindale Point of Presence.

Highlighted
Aspiring Hero
Posts: 2,527
Thanks: 947
Fixes: 50
Registered: ‎02-03-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@KS25 have a look here

Ex-Plusnetter now living life in the G,fast lane!
Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 85
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎19-07-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@plusmore  cheers

@mnewtonuk  i'm connected to the colindale gateway pcn-ir01... same as yours isn't it? lovely Roll_eyes

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 37
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎16-05-2013

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@dave

I have just checked my connection speed here 

https://www.plus.net/my.html?action=data_transfer_speed

and it says my speed is 21mb and I now have a static IP address, before the changes I had a dynamic address and a speed of 56-60mb - why on earth the massive speed drop?

Highlighted
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Thanks: 2
Registered: ‎19-05-2009

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

I switched to static address a few days ago to workaround the packet loss problem. I've been put on a  21mb line speed now too. 

Highlighted
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-09-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

My connection got reset yesterday afternoon and my live chart shows that the problem with lost packets now seems to be resolved for me:

My Broadband Ping - PlusNet ADSL2 My gateway check also now works correctly and returns:

Which gateway

You are currently connected to gateway pcl-bng01.

This is located in City Lifeline House.

Traceroute to google now shows no timeouts or lost packets:

traceroute to 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
1 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 4.960 ms 7.933 ms 4.434 ms
2 lo0.12.central12.pcl-bng01.plus.net (195.166.130.140) 14.816 ms 15.669 ms 14.888 ms
3 irb.12.pcl-cr02.plus.net (84.93.249.114) 16.828 ms 15.108 ms 14.725 ms
4 ae1.ptw-cr02.plus.net (195.166.129.2) 15.286 ms 15.961 ms 15.624 ms
5 72.14.222.97 (72.14.222.97) 39.727 ms
72.14.223.32 (72.14.223.32) 15.557 ms
72.14.222.97 (72.14.222.97) 15.321 ms
6 72.14.223.32 (72.14.223.32) 15.604 ms 15.421 ms
64.233.174.113 (64.233.174.113) 16.810 ms
7 72.14.232.193 (72.14.232.193) 17.959 ms 15.989 ms
209.85.244.199 (209.85.244.199) 16.958 ms
8 google-public-dns-a.google.com (8.8.8.8) 15.880 ms
216.239.58.75 (216.239.58.75) 17.344 ms
google-public-dns-a.google.com (8.8.8.8) 17.060 ms

So far things are looking much improved. Hopefully this will continue.

Highlighted
Grafter
Posts: 49
Thanks: 15
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎21-05-2016

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

Checked my connection this morning and looks like I have been put on a static ip overnight although I hadn't requested one. Is everyone being moved to static now?

Packet loss is zero although it had been zero for the last few days on my dynamic ip too. Haven't noticed any drop in speeds on the static ip. Download is 70.43 and upload is 18.69 which is the same as I had on dynamic.

 

Paul.

 

Highlighted
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 14,570
Thanks: 2,182
Fixes: 152
Registered: ‎04-04-2007

Re: High packet loss and other DNS issues

@iain_lee, @Andyroid, @Martin4, @dnpark38, @ChairmanH & @Paul_Corfield, apologies for any confusion, the static IPs shouldn't have been added to your accounts. I've reverted the change and corrected any speed profiles that had been 'broken'.

We actually made some physical changes to the network early hours of this morning and we're keen to see if it's improved your situation at all. If you're able to post your live graphs on the dynamic IP's you should have been reassigned then it would be much appreciated.

@plusmore, I don't seem to be able to locate your FTTC account, perhaps you can private message me the username?

@euclid, I've fixed your speed profile.

Bob Pullen
Plusnet Product Team
If I've been helpful then please give thanks ⤵