cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with Fibre speed please

FIXED
Highlighted
Macc2018
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎28-12-2017

Help with Fibre speed please

My Fibre broadband went live this morning from normal broadband and set up hub one with no issues.

 

i have done some speed tests and am only getting about 12 Mbps which is the same speed as my old broadband before we upgraded to fibre,

 

i understand that it takes a few days for the line to settle down but when i looked in my hub manager its telling me this

 

Downstream 13.74 Mbps

Upstream 992 Kbps

Maximum data rate:23215/14324

Data rate 992/13744

Noise margin 6.9/10.2

Line attenuation 11.8/26.7

Signal attenuation 11.8/25.8

 

so to me that looks like our old speed which we were getting before and i was told the Min speed we will get with fibre would be 34 Mbps and speed should be between 38 and 40 Mbps.

 

so what could be wrong?

7 REPLIES
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

you still seem to be on ADSL

Macc2018
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎28-12-2017

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

That is what i though so do i have to do anything my end or is it at Plusnet end?
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

it would appear to be either Plusnet or BT - either way not you

Shep41
Aspiring Pro
Posts: 172
Thanks: 53
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎31-05-2017

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

There's no settle down period for fibre.
Macc2018
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎28-12-2017

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

i got the email telling me that its all been done at about 1am so got me thinking would BT do the switch later on today even if plusnet sent me email saying its all been done?
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,974
Thanks: 579
Fixes: 219
Registered: ‎01-01-2012

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

Fix

@Macc2018 Hi there.

I've checked your account and the upgrade is due to complete later today.

We change your account before the engineer goes out so you should see the faster speeds straight away.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Matthew Wheeler
 Plusnet Help Team
Macc2018
Dabbler
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Registered: ‎28-12-2017

Re: Help with Fibre speed please

you was right as my speeds have gone up to what they should be.

many thanks.