cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

I've been on Plusnet's  Unlimited Fibre for the past year using an ethernet cable not wifi.
During last winter the download speed dropped from the maximum to mid twenties and over the summer it varied between 15-24 Mb depending on the weather. Speed always drops when it rains and then improves over several days back to a minimum of 15Mb.  Until now!
Three weeks ago we had severe thunder storms with torrential rain. The storms lasted for several days. Since then my broadband speed has remained below 8MB and  speedtest.btwholesale.com results now seem to be for ADSL broadband instead of fibre also the test no longer provides Further Diagnostic Results. These are the results from a few minutes ago:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 6.43 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 5.67 Mbps-8.11 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 8.11 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 0.12Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

Plusnet's data transfer speed also no longer shows fibre speed estimate:
High-speed Broadband
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
8.1 Mb
Am I correct in thinking that my Unlimited fibre is now ordinary ADSL?
I raised a ticket last week (reference number: 112490242) but because there was some noise on the phone line it is being treated as phone fault rather than broadband. But after a week of dry weather the phone line is quiet again and will probably remain so until until we have further heavy rain.
I'd be grateful for any advice /suggestions.
12 REPLIES
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Quote
Am I correct in thinking that my Unlimited fibre is now ordinary ADSL?

In short, no. Your line is still on fibre, however I can see the speeds have dropped significantly. This is probably related to the noise on the phone line or an underlying fault causing the problem.
I'm just testing the line now and will post back again shortly.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

I'd expect you to get better than you are based on your estimates. I've attached them to this post.
Currently your line is:
Downstream Speed 8.4 Mbps
Upstream Speed 0.2 Mbps
Profile Name 0.128M-10M Downstream, Retransmission High - 0.128M-3.7M Upstream, Retransmission High
Description Impairment in copper joint detected most likely in local network. Please continue to submit a trouble report
So I'm going to push the fault through now.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Thanks, Chris
Community Gaffer
Community Gaffer
Posts: 17,674
Thanks: 661
Fixes: 165
Registered: ‎05-04-2007

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Looks as though this has been passed to an engineer to investigate externally today.
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Chris Parr
 Plusnet Staff
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Thanks very much Chris.
I've just got home from work.  My dad says the BT Engineer came this afternoon. He told dad that he'd traced the fault to a loose connection in the fibre cabinet: my line had been doubled up with someone else's but the connection was loose so he crimped the wires. Engineer said there's been a lot of faults in this neighbourhood recently and I should  call them out immediately if speed drops again.  He reset the IP profile but said it will take up to 10 days to settle.
I've just run http://speedtest.btwholesale.com/ and here's the results:
Download speed achieved during the test was - 7.8 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 31.77 Mbps-45.39 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 45.39 Mbps

Upload speed achieved during the test was - 11.26Mbps
Additional Information:
Upstream Rate IP profile on your line is - 20 Mbps

One last (probably dumb) question. Upload speed has increased significantly but download speed is still 7.8Mbps. Do I have to shutdown and restart the Openreach fibre modem and/or Plusnet router (Technicolor TG582n) to get the correct fibre download speeds?
Thanks
Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,320
Thanks: 77
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Just so your aware there is no 10 day training openreach engineers and Support like to say there is but it's BS,  fibre runs at it's fullest and drops down if needs be, It's ADSL where there is training ie the speed can start off slow then build up over time.
Anway to your current issue, don't touch the modem just log into the router and on the left panel pick broadband connection then click the button that says disconnect the Led on the router that says internet should go red when that's done wait about 30 secs to a min and press the button again to connect,  the led should then go back to green.
run the BTW test again and the speed should be as normal. 
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Thanks for replying Terrranova and for the detailed instructions. Just what I need  Smiley I'll disconnect now and see what happens  Smiley
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

No change  Sad 
Download speed achieved during the test was - 7.75 Mbps
For your connection, the acceptable range of speeds is 31.77 Mbps-45.39 Mbps .
Additional Information:
IP Profile for your line is - 45.39 Mbps
Community Veteran
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 86
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Very possible that this hasn't updated yet:
Quote from: rhinocratic

Plusnet's data transfer speed also no longer shows fibre speed estimate:
High-speed Broadband
Estimated line speed:
There's no speed estimate currently held on your account.
Current line speed:
8.1 Mb
Call me 'w23'
At any given moment in the universe many things happen. Coincidence is a matter of how close these events are in space, time and relationship.
Opinions expressed in forum posts are those of the poster, others may have different views.
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Thanks w23. Plusnet's estimated line speed is still 8.1Mb with no speed estimate.
Will it update automatically or should I raise it direct with Plusnet? 
Community Veteran
Posts: 38,460
Thanks: 1,031
Fixes: 62
Registered: ‎15-06-2007

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Both
It should happen automatically but using Live Chat will get it done immediately
rhinocratic
Grafter
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎23-08-2008

Re: Have BT switched my connection back to ordinary broadband?

Used Livechat  as you suggested Oldjim. It's all sorted  Smiley Thanks to everyone for all the help and advice. Cheers