cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GlobalProtect VPN Issues

RichardB
Aspiring Champion
Posts: 807
Thanks: 264
Fixes: 27
Registered: ‎19-11-2008

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

This is probably another Red Herring.
Which ISP (which worked at full speed) is the neighbour with?
I am wondering if the neighbours ISP supports IPV6 and that is what enables faster VPN speeds?
Plusnet have yet to implement IPV6 support (I think that TalkTalk retail and Vodafone also do not support IPV6.


corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 621
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

I seem to think that 1420 worked fine on Plusnet for me. I had to have it much lower when I was using Three 4G.

You need to be aware that every path through the internet may have a different MTU, so there isn't one value that is guaranteed to work  - you really need to test against your intended destination to be confident of avoiding issues.

Of course that may not be the issue at all - can you get any logs which may give a clue? The GlobalProtect host-state info might be interesting, as would any error info.

nabllik_new
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

Hi again,

My neighbour is on Vodafone, so probably not an IPV6 issue.

With regards to the MTU, I pinged the company speedtest site and got a figure of 1372 without fragmentation.

Does this mean that I need to add 28 for the IP / ICMP headers, and then take off 73 for the IPSEC overhead?

That would mean setting the MTU on my router to:-

1372 + 28 - 73 = 1327

I will give it a try and see what difference there is.

I will keep you posted.

 

Best regards,

 

Nicholas J Ball

nabllik_new
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

Well, the MTU change did not help, I am getting no feedback from Plusnet as to how to resolve this issue, and so the next course of action is to research other providers and choose the one that is the least bad.

Best regards,

Nicholas J Ball
corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 621
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

There will be a way to find out exactly what is failing - logging at your end or the far end should give some insight.

I have some sympathy with Plusnet being unable to help with VPNs, as there are a lot of different ones around and can be configured in a variety of ways. However, with so many people working from home they are no longer a rarity, and they are losing customers that have problems using VPNs on Plusnet when the same VPN configuration works on other networks.

nabllik_new
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

Hi there,

I can get the logs from the local machine.  Let me know which ones are going to be helpful.

Best regards,

 

Nicholas J Ball

corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 621
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

I'm looking at a command-line globalprotect session on Ubuntu - if you're using Windows GUI it may be a bit different - and if you can enable "collect-log" when you have the VPN running it will create a log file that has a whole set of different info and stats.

There should be a networkinfo.txt file that describes the network setup - there should be a device such as "gpd0" which is the GlobalProtect connection. That section is of interest.

ifConfig.txt is also of interest.

Other sections may also be interesting, but let's start with networkinfo.txt and ifConfig.

nabllik_new
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

I have logged into the forums on my work laptop to enable me to share info a bit more easily.

 

It is a Windows 10 machine, and the Global Protect version is 5.2.4-21

 

I looked at the logs that are outputted, and there is no one called "networkinfo.txt", or an "ifConfig.txt"

 

When you let me know which ones are of interest, I will need to vet them to remove identifying data.

 

corringham
Seasoned Pro
Posts: 621
Thanks: 307
Fixes: 7
Registered: ‎25-09-2015

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

OK, on Windows it looks as if it is IpConfig  rather than ifConfig.txt.

I guess NicDetails and NicConfig are roughly equivalent to networkinfo.txt.

Could you check PanGPS for any errors that look suspicious?

nabllik_new
Dabbler
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-12-2016

Re: GlobalProtect VPN Issues

HI there,

 

Sorry for the delay.  As my connection was working on my neighbours WiFi, I didn't want to drop off it and get the logs.  However, I found some time, and here are the logs.

I have (hopefully) removed any info that shows my company info.  I have added the IPConfig, NicDetails & NicConfig.

PanGPS shows repeating lines of :-

 

(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:243 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:305 ST,last error is 1
(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:323 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:323 ST,last error is 1
(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:338 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:338 ST,last error is 1
(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:354 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:354 ST,last error is 1
(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:370 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:370 ST,last error is 1
(T22076)Debug( 547): 06/14/21 21:37:52:385 ST,timeout on read driver file
(T22076)Debug( 572): 06/14/21 21:37:52:385 ST,last error is 1

 

499KB of that!

Let me know if you can decipher anything to help!

Thanks in advance.

 

Nicholas J Ball