cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gea Test please

mike360
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎13-11-2011

Gea Test please

hi plusnet can i have a Gea test please my speeds have dropped 20mb my router is already in the test socket. thanks

6 REPLIES 6
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20,503
Thanks: 2,693
Fixes: 529
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: Gea Test please - upload speed halved


Moderators Note


This topic has been split from another thread for better visibility and the topic title changed.

Customer / Moderator
If it helped click the thumb
If it fixed it click 'This fixed my problem'
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,243
Thanks: 224
Fixes: 43
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Gea Test please

Hi all. 

 

@digit101 - Let me preface this by stating that we are unable to guarantee upload speeds. I've ran a GEA and can see that your speeds are as follows; 
 

DL - 25.9 (within estimates) 
UP - 0.8  (below estimates)  - No faults have been identified on the circuit. Are you able to confirm if you are currently connected to your test socket? Are you running anything new in your Local Network which could be affecting this at all? 

 

@mike360 - Your router is syncing at 75.3Mbps which is over and above your estimates on DSL Checker - are you noticing speed issues over wired or wireless connections?

 

Kind Regards, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
mike360
Grafter
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎13-11-2011

Re: Gea Test please

@MasterOfReality iv noticed speed issues over wireless about a couple of days but cant really connect my PC to my router as my PC is my bedroom and router is in the living room.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,194
Thanks: 241
Fixes: 76
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: Gea Test please

Hi @mike360,

 

Thank you for confirming that. As our tests aren't picking up any problems from here, it sounds like this is a wireless signal issue.

 

The guide below will show you how to log into the router and change the wireless channel as it's usually another router in the area on the same or similar channel that will be causing issues for both wireless frequencies. Before picking a channel I'd suggest downloading a free WiFi analyser app which will scan your area for all the routers and show what channels they are on between 1-13. Although the above app isn't essential it helps you pick where your router would be best in terms of channels and saves a lot of time doing it via trial and error.

 

1) To connect to your Hub One, you will need to open a browser and go to 192.168.1.254 If you have any issues doing this via Wireless, we recommend trying to do it via Ethernet cable instead.

 

 2) You should come to a page with information about your connection, click 'Advanced Settings' at the top and it will ask you to sign in with a Password. This is located on the back of your router under 'Admin Password'

 

 3) Select the option for 'Wireless' followed by '5 GHz Wireless'. What we want to do to begin with is turn 'Sync with 2.4 GHz Wireless' to 'Off' and update the SSID to be different. The easiest way would be to add '-5G' to the end so it is identified as its own connection. Once this is changed, we will need to keep an eye on it for a day or 2 to see if the issue continues. If it does, the next step would be to change the wireless channel. Keeping in mind the original 2.4Ghz unchanged name network connection would be the best to connect your devices to for a stronger signal. 

 

4) Following the above guide to get to your 'Advanced Settings' page, you will need to change the settings within the 2.4 GHz Wireless tab and the 5 GHz Wireless tab.

 

5) Under the correct heading, you will need to find 'Channel Selection' on the list and change this from 'Automatic' to any one of the other channels, This can also need doing under '5 GHz Wireless' to cover both signals. Give it 3-4 hours of testing to see if the issue still persists and try to change the channel again if you see little or no improvement.  

 

Please let us know how it goes.
 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Emily D
 Plusnet Help Team
digit101
Hooked
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎29-07-2018

Re: Gea Test please

Hi, @MasterOfReality yes it is connected through the test socket. There is nothing new on network and there are no electrical appliances / devices nearby.

 

Could it be a loose connection crimp as its an intermittent reduction in upload speed? line doesn't seem to be affected by rain?

 

Can I have the following results from the gea test thanks:

 

Radio Frequency Ingress  
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise  
Cross Talk  
Estimated Line Length In Metres  
Upstream Rate Assessment  
Downstream Rate Assessment  
Interference Pattern  
Service Impact  
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 157
Thanks: 44
Fixes: 12
Registered: ‎25-02-2019

Re: Gea Test please

Hi @digit101,

 

As requested below is the GEA Service Test:

 

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID  
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 25.9 Mbps
Upstream Speed 0.8 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 1461.3
Upstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Downstream Rate Assessment Very Good
Interference Pattern Regular Interference Observed on Weekends
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Interference Duration Longest Occurrence From 23:30 to 23:45
Interference Location Customer Premise
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-40M Downstream, Error Protection Off - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Error Protection Off
Time Stamp 2019-05-30T16:15:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 25.8 Mbps 28.0 Mbps 27.4 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 0.8 Mbps 1.3 Mbps 1.2 Mbps
Up Time 866.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 899.9 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2019-06-12T15:48:25.296+01:00 2019-06-12T16:03:25.296+01:00
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Faris N
 Plusnet Help Team