cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA test request and static IP questions

FIXED
mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

GEA test request and static IP questions

Hi folks,

 

Recently switched to plusnet from BT, went live yesterday, all is well so far. I have a request and a few questions about static IP.

 

- Could I get a GEA test please?

- I know a static IP is a one off purchase, but can it be turned on/off at will without charges each time?

I ask this because I mess with iptables on various servers & sometimes lock myself out (intentionally :cheesy:), and for me it's quicker to switch IP address to regain access than having to go through 'backdoors' (I have to contact support on some servers to ask for remote ssh to let myself back in). Yes, I know there are easier ways to 'fix' this.

- Can reverse DNS be set other than username.plus.com?

 

TIA 

Tags (3)
28 REPLIES 28
Baldrick1
Hero
Posts: 3,297
Thanks: 1,411
Fixes: 87
Registered: ‎30-06-2016

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

 

You should be aware that Plusnet dynamic IP addresses are very sticky so your idea of dropping the connection to change IP address may cause you much frustration.

If you ask Plusnet they will change the reverse DNS for you.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 38
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-06-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

GEA Test Detail
       
 
 
Test Outcome Fail
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_1613
Description Potential HR Joint detected on GEA service. Please continue to submit a trouble report
Main Fault Location CE
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 24.1 Mbps
Upstream Speed 4.5 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised Y
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 57.5
Upstream Rate Assessment Low
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-55M Downstream 6dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Retransmission High
Time Stamp 2018-08-28T13:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 18.8 Mbps 24.1 Mbps 21.2 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 4.4 Mbps 4.8 Mbps 4.6 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 866.5 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-09-10T11:28:05Z 2018-09-10T11:43:05Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

Currently we do not provide customers with the functionality of switching between static IP Addresses. There are 3 options available for DNS:

1 - username.plus.com – This is the default setting.

2 - IP.plus.com - 1-1-1-1.plus.com as an example.

3 - anything.domain.com - e.g. mail.bbc.co.uk – To use this option you will need to configure the forward record on the domain. We are required to prove you own the domain before any changes can be made and this will serve as verification. The domain can be hosted on the account or externally.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wasim I
 Plusnet Help Team
mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

Thank you @Waz and @Baldrick1

 

Wow that does not look good, I've never actually seen a GEA test for our line, so a couple of questions.

 

- I'm guessing a FAIL means we have a fault somewhere? This might explain a lot of issues we had on BT Infinity. 

- "Potential HR Joint detected on GEA service. Please continue to submit a trouble report" I assume HR = High Resistance.

- "Main Fault Location: CE" CE = Customer Equipment?

 

 

I'm not using the hub one, I'm using a Linksys x6200 in modem mode & a small switch running openwrt, but line seems fine here, it dropped out once last night which I've solved (keepalive issue).

 

Would raising a fault improve the service?

 

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 38
Thanks: 10
Registered: ‎18-06-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

Anytime.

 

If the GEA Test is showing errors then this suggests the issue may be with your internal wiring or equipment. You’ve read the results correctly and I am confident that raising a fault will improve the service if not determine the cause of the issue. Please raise this by visiting http://faults.plus.net to our dedicated faults team to investigate further.

 

Hope this helps. If you require any further assistance, feel free to get back in touch.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Wasim I
 Plusnet Help Team
mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

Thanks for replying again @Waz.

 

There is no self-installed internal wiring, the master socket is in the living/dining room. The OR engineer installed a CAT5 extension, which connects directly to the VDSL port on the face-plate to upstairs and that's it. There are no other extensions connected directly to the master. Even connected to the test port we still get the same speed, IIRC the OR engineer tester showed at max 30mbps, but we never synced anywhere near that. 

Also I believe there is something wrong with your GEA test, there is no way our line is that length, it is much much longer, I've found the cab we're apparently connected to (it's near our shop) and it's quite a distance!

 

I would happily raise a fault but I very much doubt nothing will be done about it & we'll end up with a nice bill for the privilege. And I'd rather not have 3 months without internet again, like last time with BT.

I can also remember a neighbour having a fault, OR came out, messed with the cables in the manhole outside our house, our internet died, had to have another engineer to fix what the first did!

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 302
Fixes: 58
Registered: ‎11-01-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

 

Hi @mpmc

 

Firstly, is your avatar a screenshot from Theme Hospital? If so, major kudos.

 

Secondly, if you raise a fault we'll 100% ensure that something is done about it. Just let us know if you proceed down that route and we'll get it progressed to our suppliers.

 

Best wishes,

 

Dave

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Dave G
 Plusnet Help Team
mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

@RandallFlagg: Yes indeed it is!

 

I've since changed a cable & tweaked some settings, could the DLM be reset and another GEA test done please?

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 623
Thanks: 114
Fixes: 31
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

Hi @mpmc

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID  
 
 
Test Outcome Fail
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_1613
Description Potential HR Joint detected on GEA service. Please continue to submit a trouble report
Main Fault Location CE
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 21.2 Mbps
Upstream Speed 4.2 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised Y
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 57.5
Upstream Rate Assessment Low
Downstream Rate Assessment Low
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Downstream Policing Discard Rate 0.0
Customer Traffic Level Upstream and Downstream Traffic Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-55M Downstream 6dB, Retransmission Low - 0.128M-10M Upstream, Retransmission High
Time Stamp 2018-08-29T14:00:00
Parameters MIN MAX AVG
Down Stream Line Rate 18.8 Mbps 26.2 Mbps 21.6 Mbps
Up Stream Line Rate 3.9 Mbps 4.8 Mbps 4.5 Mbps
Up Time 0.0 Sec 900.0 Sec 866.3 Sec
Retrains 0.0 1.0 0.0
Current and Last 15 Minute Bin Performance
Parameters Last Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins) Current Traffic Count(Upto 15 mins)
Start Time Stamp 2018-09-11T12:28:06Z 2018-09-11T12:43:06Z
Ingress Code Violation 0 0
Egress Code Violation 0 0
Errored Seconds 0 0
Severely Errored Seconds 0 0
Unavailable Seconds 0 0

I have raised a potentially external fault with our suppliers as a precaution due to a bridge tap (copper cable with no electrical termination) being detected and some drops in your service. In these circumstances we would not perform a DLM reset as the profile is set at 0.128M-55M.

You can monitor the progress of the fault by clicking here.

Thank you.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lewis G
 Infrastructure Operations Professional
Community Veteran
Posts: 1,893
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

That GEA test is the same date as the last one. 

Also the line profile is 55 10, suggesting te test was done whilst the OP was still with BT - as PN don't offer this profile as standard.

mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

@Mustrum Thanks for pointing that out, I never would've caught it in that sea of numbers! :thumbsup:

mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

A little update as PN haven't updated the ticket yet.

 

Someone from OR called (wasn't the engineer) on the mobile to inform us the engineer couldn't finish the work as his shift had ended and another appointment was needed, so someone else is coming out now on the 17th.

 

No idea what he did though as the BT DSL checker now says the bridge tap is U (unknown) instead of Y (Yes). The date of the last test is strange too.

 

:undecided:

Highlighted
Terranova667
Pro
Posts: 1,362
Thanks: 94
Fixes: 3
Registered: ‎19-02-2014

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

The date given on he BT DSL checker was when they last did a check to see if they want to adjust the estimate range which they are known to do it's nothing to do with your current issue.

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,047
Thanks: 179
Fixes: 35
Registered: ‎07-12-2017

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

Hi @mpmc, I can see we've got a visit scheduled so hopefully the engineer will be able to locate the fault when they attend again.

 

In the meantime,  (if it's possible) are you able to connect the router to the test socket with a normal DSL cable (not extended) just so we can rule out that wiring?

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Lauren Barry
 Plusnet Help Team
mpmc
Grafter
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Registered: ‎09-08-2018

Re: GEA test request and static IP questions

@LaurenB I've done as requested, connected and setup the PN Hub One to the test socket using the filter and cables provided.

 

Below are the stats from the PNH1

6. Data rate: 3440 / 26475
7. Maximum data rate: 3440 / 28110
8. Noise margin: 6.1 / 4.1
9. Line attenuation: 32.5 / 26.9
10. Signal attenuation: 32.6 / 23.5
11. Data sent/received: 0.8 MB / 3.2 MB

 

Please run another test on the line, thank you!