cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GEA Test

Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

GEA Test

Would it be possible to have a GEA test for my line please.

Cheers

12 REPLIES 12
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,069
Thanks: 1,275
Fixes: 240
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: GEA Test

Hi @Nelstro,

Here's the test for your connection.

It's changed since the initial testing when you reported the fault with your connection. I've also responded via the ticket on your account regarding this.

 

GEA Test Detail
Circuit ID NA Service ID [Removed]
 
 
Test Outcome Pass
Test Outcome Code GTC_FTTC_SERVICE_0000
Description GEA service test completed and no fault found .
Main Fault Location OK
Sync Status In Sync
Downstream Speed 35.0 Mbps
Upstream Speed 6.4 Mbps
Appointment Required N
Fault Report Advised N
NTE Power Status PowerOn
Voice Line Test Result Pass
Bridge Tap Not Detected
Radio Frequency Ingress Not Detected
Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise Not Detected
Cross Talk Not Detected
Estimated Line Length In Metres 783.2
Upstream Rate Assessment Low
Downstream Rate Assessment Reasonable
Interference Pattern Not Detected
Service Impact No Impact Observed
Home Wiring Problem Not Detected
Technology VDSL
Profile Name 0.128M-35M Downstream, Retransmission High - 0.128M-20M Upstream, Error Protection Off
If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: GEA Test

Cheers, Harry. Much appreciated.

Community Veteran
Posts: 1,894
Thanks: 380
Fixes: 42
Registered: ‎13-08-2015

Re: GEA Test

@Nelstro you may want to ask for the banding to be removed:

0.128M-35M Downstream, Retransmission High

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 5,069
Thanks: 1,275
Fixes: 240
Registered: ‎25-03-2015

Re: GEA Test

@Mustrum, I've already submitted that and confirmed it via the ticket :wink:

Apologies I didn't confirm that in my previous response here.

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 Harry Beesley
 Plusnet Infrastructure Operations Professional
Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: GEA Test

Has any progress been made on this? I have an update on my ticket saying they were waiting for test results but nothing since.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 450
Thanks: 43
Fixes: 18
Registered: ‎06-08-2018

Re: GEA Test

Hi @Nelstro,

 

Thanks for getting in touch, I appreciate your query.

 

I can't see any update about this so have requested the information from the colleague who deals with such queries. He is back after the weekend so we should have more information then.

 

Thanks - LF

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
  Tahir M
 Plusnet Help Team
Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: GEA Test

The line has speed has increased but isn't back to where it was, I have bought a 50cm cat6 modem cable to rule out any issues with the internal wiring and this has increased the line and signal attenuation values for the upstream connection dramatically but the downstream is still terrible, I am definitely thinking this is something from the BT side of things as the problems only started after there was a couple of engineers up the pole I am connected to a while back. Can another test be done on my line please, failing this I think it will need an engineer visit.

 

Cheers

Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: GEA Test

Hi @Nelstro 

 

Your line is syncing at 42.2Mbps download. 

 

These are within the estimates as per DSL Checker, and also shows that your line is no longer banded to 35M. 

 

Are you noticing different speeds at your end? 

 

Thanks, 

MoR

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: GEA Test

Yes, the original speed was 53Mb before the problems started. Also, the BT speed checker puts my line speed at 36Mb for some bizarre reason.
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: GEA Test

Thanks for getting back to me @Nelstro 

 

Speeds can change over time, this can be due to a multitude of things not just line degradation. I am in the same situation at my house, I used to Sync at 73Mbps, now I am syncing at 62Mbps on a good day. Regrettably, if you are within your limits then our suppliers would not class this as a speed issue. If we raised it to them they would more than likely close it as "no fault present after testing". If an engineer did indeed get sent out for one reason of another, with the reason being noted as "sync speed" and tested the line to be syncing within limits, our suppliers may well impose their engineer charge for the visit - and that's the last thing we would want to happen.

 

Thanks, 

MoR

 

 

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team
Nelstro
Dabbler
Posts: 12
Fixes: 1
Registered: ‎12-12-2016

Re: GEA Test

I hear what you are saying, the line was stable at 53Mb since the initial bedding in period up until a few months ago when it dropped, I wouldn't say this was normal behaviour.

What would the engineer fee be if BT was to send an engineer for the problem?

Cheers
Plusnet Help Team
Plusnet Help Team
Posts: 1,590
Thanks: 263
Fixes: 55
Registered: ‎26-03-2018

Re: GEA Test

@Nelstro 

 

"If the engineer finds the problem is with your internal wiring, your equipment, the condition of your property or the Openreach network has been damaged within your property and its boundary, or if no fault is found, you will receive a charge of £65 to cover the cost of the engineer." 

 

That is our standard engineer visit charge warning notice. 

 

Thanks, 

MoR

 

 

If this post resolved your issue please click the 'This fixed my problem' button
 MoR
 Plusnet Help Team